Wiki Posts
Search

I used a VIP for SFO-DFW!

Search this Thread

Old Jun 19, 2007, 8:32 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP (2MM), Marriott Tit
I used a VIP for SFO-DFW!

I used a VIP to upgrade SFO-DFW yesterday. I know that most readers will consider this the height of folly, but read on and see if there's a flaw in my logic.

I'm booked on AA 1210 this Friday (6/22) afternoon/evening; I requested a complimentary upgrade when I purchased the ticket last Tuesday (6/12). I've found that upgrades out of the Bay Area on a Friday are tough, so I've been watching this one closely via seatcounter.com. (I'm not an ExpertFlyer subscriber.)

From what I can tell, no upgrades cleared at 100 hours. (Neither of the seat maps changed, nor did F, A, or P availability.) By late yesterday seatcounter was showing F6 A6 P5 Y7 B7 H7 K6; all other classes were zeroed out. I used AA.com to try booking the least expensive seat available on this flight; sure enough, it came up as a KUP.

This fact convinced me that the complimentary upgrade had almost no chance of clearing (pre-airport). If 5 or 6 people wanted seats on that flight between Monday evening and Friday (which hardly seems unlikely), I was probably going to be out of luck. I know that 3.5 hours doesn't seem like a long flight to those of you who regularly travel internationally, but it's actually somewhat long compared to most of my short hops around TX, OK, AR, LA, etc. (If it's not obvious, I'm a segment qualifier.) Plus it's Friday evening.

So I figured I had to do something if I didn't want to be sweating this one out. The options I came up with were: (1) use 15,000 miles to upgrade, (2) use one of my 7 remaining VIPs, or (3) try to switch to AA 566, which leaves 1:20 later and looks a little more open up front.