Wiki Posts
Search

elementary upgrade question

Search this Thread

Old Mar 3, 2005, 10:58 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA 4MM EXP; Starwood Lifetime Plt
elementary upgrade question

I have had EXP status with AA for a long time as a result of extensive international travel, but I have no experience with free domestic upgrades because I have never traveled inside the US on an economy class ticket. For that reason, my question is very elementary: what are best days, and times of day, for these upgrades to actually come through? Are certain destinations harder than others (specifically, dfw, ord, slc)? Any tips for a beginner would be most welcome!
Old Mar 3, 2005, 11:10 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP, 6MM; BA GLD
It's hard to answer these general questions except in the most general way. Your odds of upgrading will increase by (1) flying during off-peak times, which will vary by route; and (2) submitting your request as far in advance as possible. For example, my success flying BOS-DFW has only been around 50% or so because I frequently fly last minute during peak times (I have started buying "YUP" fares to compensate for this, which is exactly what AA wants me to do; my upgrade, thus, is no longer free, but effectively is $100, which is the difference in price). That said, as an EXP, you generally only need one of the two factors I have listed in order to be successful. So if you are flying on an off-peak flight, you often will be successful upgrading even if the request is submitted closer to departure time. On the other hand, if you are able to submit your request a few weeks out, you will be successful in clearing on most routes, even popular routes during peak times. There are many EXPs out there with close to 100% success rates.
Old Mar 3, 2005, 11:22 am

Location: MSP (and will only fly NWA in re-routes if I HAVE to)
Programs: AA EXP (4.5MM), hotel programs as needed
As an Exec Plat also .. I do several things to make a flight decent.