Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Frequency of 50% bonus AA miles sales

Search this Thread

Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:41 am
Original Poster

Frequency of 50% bonus AA miles sales

Hi everyone. I am new to AAdvantage, having used BA for a number of years as my oneworld carrier for miles accumulation. At the end of 2012 there was a 50% bonus sale on AAdvantage miles, which for me was worth picking up because of attractive conversation rates on US-Asia flights.

Currently, there is a 15,000 bonus offered on purchase of 40,000 miles, equaling 38% bonus. I am tempted to pick this up because it would give me enough for another US-Asia in F. However I wonder, are 50% (or better) bonus offers on AAdvantage miles purchases are offered frequently? I will probably use the miles in the summer to book end of the year travel, so I have some time.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:11 pm

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold but PlatPro thanks to LPs
It's really hard to predict when sales will occur. They make the timing unpredictable so (1) people won't wait for a sale if they are intending to make a purchase in the near future and (2) people will jump on a sale, once announced, since they have no way of knowing when the next one will come along.

Just Marketing 101. Buy-or-die.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 1:07 pm

Programs: Skymiles (silver)
AA ran a nearly identical promotion in January 2012 for the month. I bought up 40K + 15K bonus miles which helped with an award itinerary. Haven't seen it since until now. Otherwise I've just seen the 20% AAdvantage promotion a few times if you own an AA Citi card.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 3:40 pm

Programs: dont matter anymore...
The "big" sales have been at the end of the year for the last few years. They also always up the purchase limit from 40 to 60k at the end of the year.
Old Jan 19, 2013, 7:28 am

Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, AC, WS, MR TIT