Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Honeymoon - worth it?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:05 am
Original Poster

Honeymoon - worth it?

My fiance and I are going to Hawaii for our honeymoon next year. However, we want to fly first class, and the date we need to leave does not have saver award space for first class. But there is saver award space on United or AA to Anchorage for that day. Therefore, we were thinking it might be cool to fly first class to Anchorage for 2-3 days, and then fly on to Hawaii from there, and then either fly straight home from Hawaii or back through Anchorage (I'm new to booking award flights and need to figure out the best way to maximize my points). My question is, would it be worth going through this extra hassle just for a few days in Anchorage? I have never been to Alaska and have ZERO knowledge of the area (or the Northwest in general as I am from Florida). We have been wanting to go to Alaska, and will do an Alaskan cruise in a few years either way, so is this just a waste of a few days? Any thoughts or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:10 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AF Platinum, EK Gold, AA EXP, UA 1K, Hyatt Globalist
Here I though you were asking if any honeymoon is worth it?

Alaska is great but not for just two days. The best way is see Alaska is to take 7 day cruise. Plus United First Class is not exactly real first class anyway.
Personally, I'd recommend honeymoon in Hawaii, and then 1st anniversary in Alaska.
Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:32 am
Original Poster

So theres not a whole lot that you can do in just a couple days?

Why do you say United First Class isn't real first class? Mind you, I've never flown international first class (or international anything), so I don't know what to compare it to. Would you say its a waste of points to fly first class to Alaska (or Hawaii?).
Old Aug 28, 2012, 12:11 pm

Programs: Tegridy Elite