Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Reload this Page >

Suggestions for making an AS EWR departure more tolerable?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 8, 2023, 9:55 am
Original Poster

Hi friends, I'm an AA Platinum Pro flyer based in New York City who flies to Seattle a lot, which means I'm now flying AS a lot. Most of the time I use JFK because of the Alaska lounge, but for Christmas I'm flying out of EWR because both timing and pricing was better.

Now that the beautiful new EWR Terminal A is open, I find Terminal B to be hands-down the most miserable terminal left in the entire New York City area. And the rotunda that AS flies out of only has a depressing and usually-overrun sit-down restaurant and a pretty lousy half-baked food court.

I'm planning to arrive early bc of holiday travel craziness, and I'm just wondering: has anyone cracked the code on how to make flying out of EWR B less awful? Is there an airside shuttle to one of the other terminals to pass the time pre-flight? (I have an Admirals Club membership). Is there a landside restaurant or bar that isn't as sad as the airside one near the Alaska gates?

Any ideas would be very welcome! Thanks, Daniel
Old Dec 8, 2023, 10:03 am

Programs: AS MVP, Club 49, Global Entry, National Emerald Club, Hilton Silver
Originally Posted by danwer930

I'm planning to arrive early bc of holiday travel craziness, and I'm just wondering: has anyone cracked the code on how to make flying out of EWR B less awful?
Assuming you aren't driving to the airport, have a few drinks before you leave to dull the senses. Kidding aside, isn't there a Vino Volo wine bar at EWR B? I used to imbibe that the SEA location, but heard it recently closed.
Old Dec 8, 2023, 10:10 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by AKLifetimeFlyer