Wiki Posts
Search

Recognition upgrade use criteria

Search this Thread

Old Mar 13, 2024, 11:14 pm
Original Poster

Recognition upgrade use criteria

Hi all,

I've had a trip booked for work flying PE class (Christchurch to St Louis via AKL and Houston) with airNZ. Since I have a recognition upgrade to use by Nov, I thought I would try my first RU as I'm new to silver status for AirNZ airpoint loyalty program. I contacted AirNZ online help and was told that to enable me to request thr use of my RU, I have to first raise a OneUp offer for one of the legs, and once that's done I can request RU for the one of the remaining legs. Can someone please tell me whether this is true? I cant find such information on the website. The only thing states is to request. And since this booking have 5 legs altogether and only 1 out of 5 legs are eligible for an upgrade, if I am to do OneUp, there's not emailing leg I could use my RU. This doesn't make any sense to me. To me it sounds like I have to pay before I can use my RU?? Has anyone else encountered this before? Your help is highly appreciated.
Old Mar 14, 2024, 12:16 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: TG*G, NZ*GE, QF G, Accor Gold
A warm welcome to FlyerTalk.

Key question is which airline has issued the ticket. It need to be an AirNZ ticket to apply for an RU, ticket numbers are 13 digits and start with 086. If the ticket has already been issued, you can log into your account and select 'upgrade a sector'. That will bring up which sectors are available for applying your upgrade. So you should be able to do this online. It is true that the online system is poor at handling different kinds of upgrade instruments.

As a Silver member, sorry to break it to you but the chances of upgrades clearing is poor. Depends on the route and loadings of course, but you are at the bottom of the queue.