Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air New Zealand | Air Points
Reload this Page >

Seeking advice for a NZ itinerary combining separate PNRs

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 5, 2019, 10:54 pm
Original Poster

As a complete newbie to NZ (and to New Zealand), I have a couple of simple questions about an upcoming flight. In late February, my wife and I are flying AKL-SFO in J, on NZ8. Our tickets are open-jaw returns to the US, on a UA codeshare. It now transpires that we will be leaving from Wellington, and I've booked additional one-way "seat plus bag" tickets to connect at AKL, with what should be a generous allowance for connecting time. Because the NZ website reservations system apparently only allows passengers on a single PNR to choose adjacent seats, I needed to get separate PNRs for the two of us on the WLG-AKL flight to permit booking window and aisle seats in the same row.

Here are my questions:
1) Am I correct to assume that we will be able to surrender our bags at WLG for our full TPAC itinerary (even though we have three PNRs)? Or will we be required to retrieve them at AKL, and possibly have to schlep them landside between terminals? Do NZ FTs have any particular advice in this situation, or is it all very straightforward?
2) I don't expect any lounge access at the WLG domestic terminal by virtue of our J tickets ex AKL, but do we qualify for a NZ lounge as I am a paid United Club member (under the *A "paid membership" policy)? If so, which lounge? (Since my retirement, I no longer have any *A status.)
Old Jan 5, 2019, 11:05 pm

Originally Posted by Thorgils