Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air New Zealand | Air Points
Reload this Page >

need help - want to credit to Velocity but still get Space+

need help - want to credit to Velocity but still get Space+

Old Nov 17, 11, 2:36 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland NZ
Programs: NZ Air Points (Gold Elite), Velocity (Platinum), Emirates (Gold)
Posts: 607
need help - want to credit to Velocity but still get Space+

I'm going to be doing quite a bit of Trans-Tasman flying and would like to credit my flights to Velocity. I'm not going to reach Gold Elite again this year and thus any crediting to Air NZ is worthless since I have already requalified for Gold.

Is there any way for me to credit to Velocity but still manage to get my Space+ seating? Do Velocity Platinum have access to Space+? (I am trying to book all my flights on the wide body airplanes so I can get the premium economy seating area.)

Thanks for any advice you might have.
birder is offline  
Old Nov 17, 11, 3:32 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Elite, QF Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 1,549
NZ systems have the ability to enter 2 FF numbers in a booking. One for earning purposes and one for non-earning purposes. You'll need to call Air NZ and ask them to enter your Velocity number in the earning field and your NZ number in the non-earning field and this should make your NZ status show up on the boarding pass and pax manifest and NZ systems (allowing you lounge access, Space+, extra bag, special onboard treatment etc) while crediting the flights to Velocity.
NZ_Flyer is offline  
Old Nov 17, 11, 5:54 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,459
FQTV for earning (Enter Velocity number here)
FQTS for status (Enter 's number here)

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-n...fqtv-fqts.html
serfty is offline  
Old Nov 17, 11, 7:45 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland NZ
Programs: NZ Air Points (Gold Elite), Velocity (Platinum), Emirates (Gold)
Posts: 607
Thanks to both of you, NZ_Flyer and serfty, very much!
birder is offline  
Old Nov 17, 11, 9:11 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SYD
Programs: OZ*G, VA gold, NZ*G (Elite), QF bronze, Hyatt Explorist, HH Gold, Bonvoyed ("Gold")
Posts: 5,102
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
FQTV for earning (Enter Velocity number here)
FQTS for status (Enter 's number here)

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-n...fqtv-fqts.html
That's correct, however I've found from bitter experience that if you're talking to reservations, the 'FQTS' and 'FQTV' nomenclature inevitably means nothing to them. The trick is to ask them to enter your NZ*E number into the 'non accrual field' - ever since I learned that one it's got much easier and I have about a 2/3 success rate of getting both fields correctly used.

It's great that NZ's systems have that functionality, but it can be an intensely frustrating process trying to put it into action.
mad_atta is offline  
Old Nov 17, 11, 10:23 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Elite, QF Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 1,549
Originally Posted by mad_atta View Post
That's correct, however I've found from bitter experience that if you're talking to reservations, the 'FQTS' and 'FQTV' nomenclature inevitably means nothing to them. The trick is to ask them to enter your NZ*E number into the 'non accrual field' - ever since I learned that one it's got much easier and I have about a 2/3 success rate of getting both fields correctly used.

It's great that NZ's systems have that functionality, but it can be an intensely frustrating process trying to put it into action.
Same here. I have called to get my NZ number into FQTS and DJ into FQTV and the lady had no idea what I wanted (I used the terminology as well). But as soon as I explained what I wanted in laymans terms she said "oh you want your NZ number in the non-earning field!"
NZ_Flyer is offline  
Old Nov 17, 11, 10:29 pm
  #7  
Ambassador: Air New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington NZ
Programs: NZ Gold, EK Gold, Amex Plat, SPG Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 1,295
The other way is to make the booking with AirPoints number and ask at checkin for FQTV to be loaded with Velocity number & FQTS with Airpoints number.
WLG Base is online now  
Old Nov 18, 11, 12:07 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: WLG, New Zealand
Programs: UA LTG QF LTG/P1 NZ*E
Posts: 1,870
In the lounges they usually refer to number in the FQTS field as the secondary number

Jeff
jswong is offline  
Old Nov 18, 11, 2:58 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Silver
Posts: 1,742
Hypothetically, if the OP didn't have status with NZ, would his/her status with DJ allow them to pre-select PE seating on TT?? If it did, I'd assume they'd have to phone NZ to do it?
brenrox is offline  
Old Nov 18, 11, 4:13 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Programs: NZ*G, DJ S
Posts: 1,238
Originally Posted by brenrox View Post
Hypothetically, if the OP didn't have status with NZ, would his/her status with DJ allow them to pre-select PE seating on TT?? If it did, I'd assume they'd have to phone NZ to do it?
I would presume there's nothing listed about that, but then it does appear DJ give *NZ Gold priority to the PE seats on their flights, so it could quite possibly work in the reverse.
Shazzadude is offline  
Old Nov 20, 11, 4:07 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Programs: Amex Plat, CX Gold, VA Gold, BA paeon, VS rabble, NZ A$ bru
Posts: 235
I've just been having this issue, but in reverse: I've been burning a big stack of Airbucks but have Velocity Gold. My findings:

1) FQTV vs FQTS as nomenclature are useful: but I found that calling it the "FQTS Non Accrual field" got the best results.

2) Quote your number with the airline code. My Velocity number got stuck in as VS1234567890 rather than DJ1234567890, which meant no seat selection for me.

3) The evening shift seem to be more comfortable dealing with this stuff, whether that's because they're more experienced or whether they're bored and keener to chat and poke around with the system.

4) Eventually, you'll run into someone who refuses to believe this is possible. Time for call centre bingo: thank them, hang up and ring back.
ThatJohn is offline  
Old Nov 20, 11, 4:12 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Programs: Amex Plat, CX Gold, VA Gold, BA paeon, VS rabble, NZ A$ bru
Posts: 235
Originally Posted by brenrox View Post
Hypothetically, if the OP didn't have status with NZ, would his/her status with DJ allow them to pre-select PE seating on TT?? If it did, I'd assume they'd have to phone NZ to do it?
I reckon it would, since as a DJ Gold I can select Space+ when booking on NZ.

One can only select seats online if you've booked with NZ and not DJ, since DJ doesn't do web checkin (or "wib chicken" in NZ parlance) and doesn't have access to the NZ seatmaps.

However, as a DJ Gold I keep getting popped into Space+ when it exists on my flight. Can't speak to PE, since us poor Wellingtonians don't get anything larger than a puddlejumper.

Internally in NZ (even on grabaseat fares) I can select seats (including Space+) with my DJ number in either the FQTV or FQTS field (see post above).
ThatJohn is offline  
Old Nov 20, 11, 11:36 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Silver
Posts: 1,742
Originally Posted by ThatJohn View Post
I reckon it would, since as a DJ Gold I can select Space+ when booking on NZ.

One can only select seats online if you've booked with NZ and not DJ, since DJ doesn't do web checkin (or "wib chicken" in NZ parlance) and doesn't have access to the NZ seatmaps.

However, as a DJ Gold I keep getting popped into Space+ when it exists on my flight. Can't speak to PE, since us poor Wellingtonians don't get anything larger than a puddlejumper.

Internally in NZ (even on grabaseat fares) I can select seats (including Space+) with my DJ number in either the FQTV or FQTS field (see post above).
Do you have to ring the call centre to get space+ or does myairnz allow it?
brenrox is offline  
Old Nov 21, 11, 12:00 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Programs: Amex Plat, CX Gold, VA Gold, BA paeon, VS rabble, NZ A$ bru
Posts: 235
Originally Posted by brenrox View Post
Do you have to ring the call centre to get space+ or does myairnz allow it?
I've been able to use the Seat Request system as normal. If you can't, my guess would be that someone's stuffed up and added your DJ number wrongly
ThatJohn is offline  
Old Nov 21, 11, 12:04 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: AKL
Programs: NZ Silver
Posts: 1,742
Originally Posted by ThatJohn View Post
I've been able to use the Seat Request system as normal. If you can't, my guess would be that someone's stuffed up and added your DJ number wrongly
Thanks!
brenrox is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: