AKL Min Connect Time - Dom to Int

Old Aug 23, 11, 1:20 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: BTV
Posts: 23
AKL Min Connect Time - Dom to Int

Original flights from CHC to AKL to LAX had 80 minutes in AKL. NZ2 moved up 30 minutes. Now connect time is 50 minutes. ANZ says not enough time but can't change since ticket issued by Continental. CO says plenty of time since just a regular transfer. Should I be worried? My first trip to New Zealand so I'm not familiar with the airport layout and procedures. Thanks in advance for any help.
VTerforlife is offline  
Old Aug 23, 11, 1:38 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattExpl.►HiltonGold►ALL Silver
Posts: 21,551
The CO agent are incorrect - the published MCT is no less than 55 minutes.

There is a 15 minute transit between the terminals for a start; then the time to get though Security and emigration.

Methinks the CO agent is thinking of USA departures.

I'd do the "Pleasantly call again" trick.

Results from ExpertFlyer.com
Code:
Minimum Connection times AKL: NZ-NZ, DOM-INT
STANDARD.D/D...D/I...I/D...I/I.
ONLINE    .20  1.15  1.30   .55
OFFLINE   .20  1.15  1.30   .55
** OR * ARE ALL
NZ-NZ DI  1.10 FLT  638 - FLT  739 OPN    -29OCT11 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT    2 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT   31 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT   39 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT   81 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT   85 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT   97 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT  264 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT  266 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT  287 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT  289 
NZ-NZ DI   .55 FLT  302 - FLT 1097 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT  402 - FLT   99 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT  500 - FLT  221 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT  500 - FLT  791 
NZ-NZ DI  1.10 FLT 2226 - FLT    2 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT 2750 - FLT  103 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT 2750 - FLT  703 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT 5070 - FLT  103 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT 5070 - FLT  703 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT 8408 - FLT  103 
NZ-NZ DI  1.00 FLT 8408 - FLT  703 
NZ-NZ DI SUP   ALL  - FLT  303 
NZ-NZ DI  2.00 ALL  - FLT 7900 - 7998
serfty is offline  
Old Aug 23, 11, 1:44 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: heading back to Christchurch..
Programs: NZ*G and a couple of other Silvers.
Posts: 197
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
The CO agent are incorrect - the published MCT is no less than 55 minutes.

There is a 15 minute transit between the terminals for a start; then the time to get though Security and emigration.
I can do the walk in around 7-8 minutes, 50 minutes is definitely a struggle though.
sdh80 is offline  
Old Aug 23, 11, 2:10 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stanmore, Sydney, Australia.
Programs: NZ Airpoints GE
Posts: 1,360
All you need is the CHC to be delayed by 10 mins and you are stuffed.
MrSydney is offline  
Old Aug 23, 11, 5:35 am
  #5  
formerly kiwi_norway
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, UK
Programs: A3*G, NZ*S, Avis PC
Posts: 335
If there's been a timetable change that now makes the transfer too tight (and trust me, 50 minutes Dom-Int at Auckland is NOT enough), then as long as the trip was issued on a single ticket, the airline should be moving you to an earlier CHC departure.

You don't want to risk such a short transfer at Auckland, and in my mind you should not be liable for change fees or ticket re-issue charges due to operator timetable changes.
FlyingFilmGuy is offline  
Old Aug 23, 11, 4:00 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: heading back to Christchurch..
Programs: NZ*G and a couple of other Silvers.
Posts: 197
Originally Posted by kiwi_norway View Post
If there's been a timetable change that now makes the transfer too tight (and trust me, 50 minutes Dom-Int at Auckland is NOT enough), then as long as the trip was issued on a single ticket, the airline should be moving you to an earlier CHC departure.

You don't want to risk such a short transfer at Auckland, and in my mind you should not be liable for change fees or ticket re-issue charges due to operator timetable changes.
Yeah that's the approach I'd be taking.
sdh80 is offline  
Old Aug 23, 11, 11:13 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: BTV
Posts: 23
Thanks for the advice everyone. I'll give it a while then use the "Pleasantly Call Again” approach. I don't fly until March so future schedule changes may even fix this by itself.
VTerforlife is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: