Community
Wiki Posts
Search

A few newbie questions

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31, 2023, 12:51 am
Original Poster

A few newbie questions

AF/KLM newbie here so please excuse my lack of program knowledge and the length of the post.

I've just made my first booking for many years on AF, routing BKK-EDI and return all in March 2024 (via CDG in both directions of course). Fares are Business Light with the long hauls booking into O and the EDI legs into J. I have entered my KQ Gold number (Skyteam Elite Plus) into the booking to allow seat choice and lounge access. All flights will use 2E in CDG.

My questions:
1) My booking shows one hold bag but I have read many references to Light Fares not having any hold baggage allowance. Is this just out of date information I've been reading?

2) Short haul flights are on A220s and Long haul on B777-300ERs with 48 in J. Aerolopa suggest rows 1 or 9 on the 777 for a larger footwell, but both are near toilets and a galley. Row 9 is a bassinet row too so possibility of getting moved. The A220 flights are showing 5 and 9 rows respectively designated Business Class with the C and E seats blocked. Any particular seat choices to go for?

3) I understand XPs and the earnings accruing, but what are UXPs?

4) Status looks to be quite easy to attain given my recent travel patterns, so is there any way to credit these to Flying Blue given I have used my KQ status on the booking already?

5) Are pre-departure drinks offered on these flights?

6) All flights appear to have wifi on board. I found pricing of 3 to 8 Euro for the Surf Pass but it was from 5 years ago. Are these prices still current?

7) I have an old Flying Dutchman account somewhere. Is it of any use?

8) Any lounge or other relevant comments and suggestions also appreciated.

Thanks.
Old Dec 31, 2023, 2:27 am

Programs: FB Platinum
Hello,

1) Business Light has one 32kg piece of luggage instead of two.
2) Go for A seats in A220 business class, because C is blocked.