Wiki Posts
Search

Using AP Miles on YYZ-SYD

Search this Thread

Old Apr 29, 2009, 10:09 am
Original Poster

Programs: Back of the bus
Using AP Miles on YYZ-SYD

Is it just me, or is this the worst possible route to try and actually use for miles redemption in executive/first?

Does not matter the dates and times, if the flight is on A/C via YVR, then i'm getting quoted 585K per flight for business class. Absolutely ridiculous!

Any suggestions on routings to make this work? I'm sure there is stuff buried in other threads somewhere, but I'm new to the game of fudging the routings to make this practical.
Old Apr 29, 2009, 10:26 am

Programs: Aeroplan Former E
Actually depends on when you are trying to go. I've actually seen 6 Ds out of YVR to SYD in July. But normally it is very tough because people snap up tickets at the 330 day mark - and you are fighting not only AC customers but also part of UA/USs customers as well.
Old Apr 29, 2009, 10:34 am

Programs: AC 75K
Originally Posted by jazzsax
Is it just me, or is this the worst possible route to try and actually use for miles redemption in executive/first?

Does not matter the dates and times, if the flight is on A/C via YVR, then i'm getting quoted 585K per flight for business class. Absolutely ridiculous!

Any suggestions on routings to make this work? I'm sure there is stuff buried in other threads somewhere, but I'm new to the game of fudging the routings to make this practical.
Other routings might included LAX or SFO/NRT/ICN/SIN/BKK among other asian destinations.

You can also route via Europe and SIN/BKK
Old Apr 29, 2009, 2:10 pm

Originally Posted by Jalinth
Actually depends on when you are trying to go. I've actually seen 6 Ds out of YVR to SYD in July.