Help! Canít find gate 171 at YYZ

Old Dec 7, 19, 2:29 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,639
Help! Canít find gate 171 at YYZ

checked in on the AC mobile app. Got my boarding pass etc. Actually worked so thatís a huge plus! 1/8 since the transition. But I canít for the life of me find gate 171. Help AC?


Sean Peever is online now  
Old Dec 7, 19, 2:39 pm
  #2  
ecc
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: YFC
Programs: Air Canada/Aeroplan E50K, Mariott Gold Elite, Hotels.com Gold, Best Western Diamond Select,
Posts: 284
Are you at the airport? Look for the information screens for your flight's gate. Flag down an AC employee?
ecc is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 2:42 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,639
Originally Posted by ecc View Post
Are you at the airport? Look for the information screens for your flight's gate. Flag down an AC employee?

The closest I can find is F71. Maybe Iíll just try and go there?
Sean Peever is online now  
Old Dec 7, 19, 2:56 pm
  #4  
ecc
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: YFC
Programs: Air Canada/Aeroplan E50K, Mariott Gold Elite, Hotels.com Gold, Best Western Diamond Select,
Posts: 284
Originally Posted by Sean Peever View Post
The closest I can find is F71. Maybe Iíll just try and go there?
No, F71 is transborder if memory serves.
https://flightaware.com/live/flight/ACA125 and https://www.torontopearson.com/en/departures/flights/aca125/t1207aca125yyzyvr/ say you need gate D45.

Look for the various information screens inside the terminal for more accurate information. Or ask an airport or AC employee for assistance.

They look like


Etc.
ecc is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 2:59 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,647
Reminds me of when I missed standby because the app gave me the wrong gate. Had it been accurate, or had no gate, I would have made the flight.

At least when it gives you a non-existent gate (171) or an obviously-wrong gate (71), you know you need to check elsewhere.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 3:04 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,639
Originally Posted by ecc View Post
No, F71 is transborder if memory serves.
https://flightaware.com/live/flight/ACA125 and https://www.torontopearson.com/en/departures/flights/aca125/t1207aca125yyzyvr/ say you need gate D45.

Look for the various information screens inside the terminal for more accurate information. Or ask an airport or AC employee for assistance.

They look like


Etc.
Well what the hell! Thatís not where the AC app says to go???



Iíve got a tight connection due to a delayed flight ( AC claims 1 min delay due to aircraft rotation and 1hr21min delay due to assisted boarding of 18 pax - but the assisted boarding didnít start until after the scheduled departure time ). So Iím trying to plan where I need to rush to. Itís hard not to trust the AC app but since I canít find 171 Iíll try D45 instead of F71. Letís hope that works!
Sean Peever is online now  
Old Dec 7, 19, 3:11 pm
  #7  
ecc
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: YFC
Programs: Air Canada/Aeroplan E50K, Mariott Gold Elite, Hotels.com Gold, Best Western Diamond Select,
Posts: 284
Originally Posted by Sean Peever View Post
Well what the hell! Thatís not where the AC app says to go???



Iíve got a tight connection due to a delayed flight ( AC claims 1 min delay due to aircraft rotation and 1hr21min delay due to assisted boarding of 18 pax - but the assisted boarding didnít start until after the scheduled departure time ). So Iím trying to plan where I need to rush to. Itís hard not to trust the AC app but since I canít find 171 Iíll try D45 instead of F71. Letís hope that works!
You won't be able to get to the transboder gates, you need to go to the domestic section. Your boarding pass has ITD OSS so you won't have to go pick up your bag, just follow the signs for domestic connections with Air Canada, and there's staff there to route people to the small CBSA booth. There are screens along the walkway to show you what gate you need.

You will definitely need the D Gates no matter what for a domestic flight. If memory serves, E is international, F is transborder, and some gates are E/F combos.

Keep an eye on the link from Pearson departures as this is likely the most up to date source of information. https://www.torontopearson.com/en/de...7aca125yyzyvr/
ecc is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 3:18 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,639
Originally Posted by ecc View Post
You won't be able to get to the transboder gates, you need to go to the domestic section. Your boarding pass has ITD OSS so you won't have to go pick up your bag, just follow the signs for domestic connections with Air Canada, and there's staff there to route people to the small CBSA booth. There are screens along the walkway to show you what gate you need.

You will definitely need the D Gates no matter what for a domestic flight. If memory serves, E is international, F is transborder, and some gates are E/F combos.

Keep an eye on the link from Pearson departures as this is likely the most up to date source of information. https://www.torontopearson.com/en/de...7aca125yyzyvr/

well thatís annoying. I re-looked at this AC app like a dozen times and I canít find any letters for gates in it.
Sean Peever is online now  
Old Dec 7, 19, 3:35 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 31,647
Originally Posted by ecc View Post
You won't be able to get to the transboder gates, you need to go to the domestic section. Your boarding pass has ITD OSS so you won't have to go pick up your bag, just follow the signs for domestic connections with Air Canada, and there's staff there to route people to the small CBSA booth. There are screens along the walkway to show you what gate you need.

You will definitely need the D Gates no matter what for a domestic flight. If memory serves, E is international, F is transborder, and some gates are E/F combos.

Keep an eye on the link from Pearson departures as this is likely the most up to date source of information. https://www.torontopearson.com/en/de...7aca125yyzyvr/
For the record, Sean's post is satirical.

I only mention this because you're putting a lot of effort into helpful advice, and I guarantee he's not going to try to walk to the F gates for his flight to YVR.
Admiral Ackbar and skybluesea like this.
canadiancow is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 3:49 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime PE, AC Altitude SE100K-1MM
Posts: 307
Another glitch since Amadeus...
This happened on my dad's flight YYZ to YVR on Nov 26.
When I printed out his BP, it was Gate 165, IIRC. This translated to D39.
So, doing the math, 171 = D45.
skybluesea likes this.
SteadyAT is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 3:54 pm
  #11  
ecc
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: YFC
Programs: Air Canada/Aeroplan E50K, Mariott Gold Elite, Hotels.com Gold, Best Western Diamond Select,
Posts: 284
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
For the record, Sean's post is satirical.

I only mention this because you're putting a lot of effort into helpful advice, and I guarantee he's not going to try to walk to the F gates for his flight to YVR.
Oh, I really didn't get that at all, I thought he genuinely needed help. Thank you canadiancow for pointing this out, text really doesn't convey tone well, and I have a hard enough time distinguishing satire as it is. /S or a would have been very helpful to make that distinction, especially on mobile where you don't see people's status/memberships, which is what I use most of the time.

Well, I hope that at least this info on what to do helps someone in the future, if they are a FOTSG or something and get bad data from the app.
ecc is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 4:03 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime PE, AC Altitude SE100K-1MM
Posts: 307
Originally Posted by ecc View Post
Oh, I really didn't get that at all, I thought he genuinely needed help.
Tongue in cheek as OP might have been, your effort and willingness to help an FTer "in need" is the epitome of what makes FT a great community. ^
SteadyAT is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 4:49 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MLL / AC Cafe
Programs: It's hard to get status when the website won't let me book flights.
Posts: 5,639
Update, Gave my boarding pass to AC Agent, and asked them where to go to catch the flight. He told me international gates is where I have to go. I confirmed with him 3 times for a flight to Vancouver and he said “yes sir”. The Toronto Airport crew manning the door wouldn’t let me through.

#OkI’mDoneNow

Done pretending to be a regular passenger for a day, it’s way too frustrating and I’m getting sent all over the place. I’m going back to being a FTr.

Last edited by Sean Peever; Dec 7, 19 at 5:15 pm
Sean Peever is online now  
Old Dec 7, 19, 5:34 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: YYT
Programs: AC P25K, WS Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MP, Priority Pass, AMEX MR, NEXUS, H-Honors, M-Bonvoy
Posts: 834
Originally Posted by Sean Peever View Post
Update, Gave my boarding pass to AC Agent, and asked them where to go to catch the flight. He told me international gates is where I have to go. I confirmed with him 3 times for a flight to Vancouver and he said ďyes sirĒ. The Toronto Airport crew manning the door wouldnít let me through.

#OkIímDoneNow

Done pretending to be a regular passenger for a day, itís way too frustrating and Iím getting sent all over the place. Iím going back to being a FTr.
Saw your tweet @acaltitude hahaha it showed up in my feed
codfather is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 5:39 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
171is a gate at T1 in YYZ. Pilots do not use the terminal gate number when AC ground control tells them where to go on arrival. 171 is at the most southerly point of the international hammerhead. Probably gate E71 for pax inside.
Bohemian1 and rage like this.
rally66 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: