Search

OTA or book with Accor?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 13, 2019, 3:51 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: DL, OZ, AC, AS, AA, BA, Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott, IHG
OTA or book with Accor?

I'm fairly new to Accor. I've been a hotel free agent for a long time, but recently settle down on Hilton and Marriott. I have stayed at Ibis before, but I booked them via OTA. I'm assuming if I book via OTA, then I don't earn any points or elite status just like with the other chains? If the price is the same, then I'm better off booking with Accor?
Old Oct 13, 2019, 4:28 pm
Accor Contributor Badge

Programs: ALL Plat, HH Gold, Marriott GE
You may get the 5% or 10% members discount when booking direct .....

If you just stay at Ibis, there is a card that will give you "gold" status and an additional ( ? ) discount
Old Oct 13, 2019, 6:16 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge

Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Originally Posted by lsquare
I'm fairly new to Accor. I've been a hotel free agent for a long time, but recently settle down on Hilton and Marriott. I have stayed at Ibis before, but I booked them via OTA. I'm assuming if I book via OTA, then I don't earn any points or elite status just like with the other chains? If the price is the same, then I'm better off booking with Accor?
Yes, no points and perks when booked through OTA, with a few exceptions (Amex travel)
Old Oct 14, 2019, 10:41 am

We often book Fairmont using visa lhr or amex travel. It is usually the same price as accor website PLUS $50 F&B, $70 breakfast credit (inclusive of in room dining) AND regular le club benefits (upgrade, points, etc). In addition we pay with discounted gift cards (usually 20% bonus offer twice per year).
Brendan likes this.
Old Oct 14, 2019, 11:04 am

Programs: Accor Gold, Marriott Titanium, IHG Diamond , Amex Platinum
Originally Posted by Goldorak