FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Good-bye
Thread: Good-bye
View Single Post
Old Oct 5, 2004, 7:40 am
Bart
Suspended

Good-bye

I'm not returning to FlyerTalk.

Seems that the same people obsess over the same topics no matter how many of us TSA employees try to correct myths, misperceptions and exaggerations. For a while, there appeared to be some give-and-take progress, but recently it's taken a turn for the worst. Perhaps the proverbial straw that broke the camel's back was the lack of objectivity by the so-called moderators. No fun playing against a stacked deck.

I've mentioned perspective in many of my posts, and I think it's appropriate that I share my perspective in this last and final post on FlyerTalk.

I'm a retired Army intelligence officer. While the majority of my experience dealt with operations conducted against our Cold War adversaries, the latter half of my career entailed the new asymetric threat that emerged after the Cold War. Hate to put it this way, but it seemed that the world was a safer place when two superpowers had arsenals of intercontinental ballistic missiles aimed at each other. The rules of engagement were somewhat simpler; and each side was careful to avoid triggering a global nuclear holocaust.

All of that changed when the Soviet Union and its cronies went away. The new threat that emerged has no regard for rules. Instead of a chess game, we find ourselves in a street fight. This became quite obvious to me when, during one of my stints in a war-torn country, I came across what I thought was a thrown-away doll, and it turned out to be the remains of an infant who was victimized by a senseless massacre euphemistically called "ethnic cleansing."