FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - What does Loyalty get you?
View Single Post
Old Dec 11, 2017, 6:43 pm
Canada101

Programs: SPG Platinum (100)
Originally Posted by NYCtraveler
I have traveled consistently since I was in my 20's and I am now in my 40's....9 Million lifetime AA miles, Lifetime platinum on them....Diluted with the new level they introduced. Starwood is my program of choice for hotels and I am lifetime platinum and soon to pass the 2000 night mark. I currently rack up about 140-170 nights per year in Starwood hotels. For years friends have said to "diversify" go Top tier in another program.....and I resisted because I am loyal to Starwood. I have a very friendly ambassador, I receive the occasional upgrades and get free water etc. This all said, I see little benefit in staying over 101 nights? Should I start switching it up to Hyatt etc? I recently saw an interview with the head of loyalty for Marriott and he said there were 50+ people who had achieved platinum in both Star/Mar programs and they "knew who they were". What about those of us that have been loyal to Starwood throughout the years? Or perhaps I am no longer the target market as I am now an older demographic? I feel sometimes that I am playing my hand wrong here? any thoughts or advice are welcome.....Every day is a school day. Cheers!