What does Loyalty get you?

Old Dec 7, 17, 4:29 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA 7MM Exec,Life Plat, SPG Plat Amb,Life Plat,Hilton Gold, Hyatt Plat
What does Loyalty get you?

I have traveled consistently since I was in my 20's and I am now in my 40's....9 Million lifetime AA miles, Lifetime platinum on them....Diluted with the new level they introduced. Starwood is my program of choice for hotels and I am lifetime platinum and soon to pass the 2000 night mark. I currently rack up about 140-170 nights per year in Starwood hotels. For years friends have said to "diversify" go Top tier in another program.....and I resisted because I am loyal to Starwood. I have a very friendly ambassador, I receive the occasional upgrades and get free water etc. This all said, I see little benefit in staying over 101 nights? Should I start switching it up to Hyatt etc? I recently saw an interview with the head of loyalty for Marriott and he said there were 50+ people who had achieved platinum in both Star/Mar programs and they "knew who they were". What about those of us that have been loyal to Starwood throughout the years? Or perhaps I am no longer the target market as I am now an older demographic? I feel sometimes that I am playing my hand wrong here? any thoughts or advice are welcome.....Every day is a school day. Cheers!
Old Dec 7, 17, 5:22 am

Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, SPG/MR Plat, IHG Plat
I think it's fair to say that you are being "taken for granted" as hotel chains do ever more ridiculous things to attract millenials. That said, Marriott are being extremely careful about retaining SPG elites by not rashly pushing everybody into Marriott Rewards as it now stands.