FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Dodgy advertisers
View Single Post
Old Feb 13, 2014 | 3:13 pm
  #2  
IBobi
No longer with Internet Brands
10 Years on Site
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Programs: DL DM 1.6MM, Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,343
Originally Posted by nth_utsera_sth_utsera
Hi,

One of FT's ad serving modules is delivering ads from a company called hotcrazydeals.com. The ad promises:



It's probably going too far to call them scam artists, but this is basically a dupe to get you to enter your credit card details, you then get billed for a 'membership fee' if you don't cancel within 72 hours. I haven't gotten as far as trying to sign up, as I wouldn't trust a company "registered in Panama" with such sensitive info.

I don't think FT should be displaying ads from companies like these.
I agree -- can you take a screen shot and post a link to the ad so it can be blocked?

FT can't pre-screen every ad, so sometimes stuff like this gets through.
IBobi is offline