Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Virgin Australia | Velocity
Reload this Page >

How much time for "Do It Myself" connection in SYD?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 7, 2015, 11:01 am
Original Poster

Programs: Honors LT Diamond; United 1K; Hertz PC

Greetings,

This is my first time wandering to this forum so please feel free to redirect me if appropriate.

My girlfriend and I are going to be celebrating our anniversary in Australia this coming March (first time in Aus for both of us). We're starting in Sydney, spending a couple days in Cairns, and finishing the trip in Melbourne.

Since Star Alliance is useless for intra-Australia flights, I'm using my Delta Skymiles account to book trips on Virgin Australia, but Delta had no VA award availability for CNS-MEL or CNS-SYD-MEL, but I've booked SYD-CNS-SYD and it looks like there's plenty of SYD-MEL availability so I'm planning on booking that as a separate ticket on the same day.

Since I have no experience with Australian airport formalities or SYD in particular I'm wondering how much time to allow for delays, collecting and rechecking our luggage (1 bag each), re-clearing security, etc.? Is 90-120 minutes too optimistic?

Or is there a better way to go about this?

Thank you in advance!

Lincoln
Old Dec 7, 2015, 2:03 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattExpl.►HiltonGold►ALL Silver
Firstly I presume you booked online.

I have seen where DL.com will not allow the booking more than one domestic VA segment at a time while there is availability over two. Generally you do need to call Skymiles to have this done.

Secondly, if you have two bookings - VA-xVA then it is likely they will check your bags through - just have both e-tickets with you on check-in in Melbourne.

To collect bags and recheck at SYD Domestic, I would allow no less than 1½ hours between flights.
Old Dec 7, 2015, 2:14 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist