Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Can I use 2 accounts to pay for trip?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:13 pm
Original Poster

Can I use 2 accounts to pay for trip?

I'm a newbie. I used to use Travelocity. I opened MilagePlus account for me and after different account for my wife. Never redeemed miles. Now we both have lots of miles, plus I got United credit card (connected to my account) and more miles.
So, the question is: Can I just join our miles or accounts? We fly always together.
I basically want to buy tickets using both miles. Is that possible?
Also, should I keep adding miles to her and my account or keep them all together in my MilagePlus?

Thank you for help.
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:36 pm

If you have enough miles in each account book 2 different itineraries (one for you & one for your wife) -Round trip-from each account separately. Or you could book 2 different one ways & both be on the same itinerary using miles from one account each way. Transferring miles from one account to another is permitted, but a rip off in my book, unless you only need a few miles to have enough to obtain what you want for your partner.

Try to find saver fares as standard fares are double and not a very good use of your miles.

Good luck & have fun!!!
Old Mar 4, 2012, 8:57 am

Programs: No Loyalty to any airline
Welcome to FT janman74!

You can't combine miles between accounts. As stated, all you can do is pay to transfer up to 15,000 miles a year between accounts which isn't much of a deal.

I try and build up miles in just one account because that works better for us. As stated, booking one-way awards is the way to go if you don't have enough miles in one account for a round trip. You just won't be able to be on the same itinerary that way. If you take this route, call and have your reservations linked.
Old Mar 4, 2012, 6:47 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Originally Posted by 6rugrats
Welcome to FT janman74!