Go Back   > > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 9, 09, 10:04 pm   #16
  
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: IAD
Programs: UA GS, Avis CHM, Marriott & SPG & PC Plat., Hyatt & Hilton Diamond
Posts: 4,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERS View Post
Dumb question as just a general MP member flying First out of YVR -ORD can I use the Maple Leaf lounge then? I know I can use the RCC in ORD..
Just a hint -- Don't use the Maple Leaf Lounge! It will be hard to come back and visit any RCC in the near future!
heffa is offline  
Old Mar 9, 09, 10:05 pm   #17
  
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shareholder View Post
At SFO access would not be provided to the SQ lounge since flights to Canada depart from the UA domestic terminal and security will limit access to/from the international terminal.
New walkway bridge opens at San Francisco International airport
On December 24th, United and the SFO airport opened a new walkway bridge connecting the domestic and international terminals. The walkway begins at gate 75 and exits near the international Red Carpet Club. Learn more.

http://www.united.com/page/article/0,6722,52972,00.html
SFO-DEN-ISN is offline  
Old Mar 10, 09, 9:37 am   #18
  
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: YYC
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERS View Post
I saw that but wasn't sure because I am flying united not air canada.
It also says on that page that you need a ticket on AC, ACJazz, *A, or other codeshare flight. But it's not crystal clear that flying first class on non-AC gets you in, if you don't otherwise have status or membership.

You can always try, and the worst they can do is say no
28isGreat is offline  
Old Mar 10, 09, 1:37 pm   #19
Ari
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 10,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by 28isGreat View Post
It also says on that page that you need a ticket on AC, ACJazz, *A, or other codeshare flight. But it's not crystal clear that flying first class on non-AC gets you in, if you don't otherwise have status or membership.

You can always try, and the worst they can do is say no
The new Star-Alliance rules are crystal clear:

http://www.staralliance.com/en/trave...ss-policy.html
Ari is offline  
Old Mar 10, 09, 6:40 pm   #20
ERS
  
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MHT, BOS, DEN
Programs: Delta, United, PC Platinum
Posts: 52
Wow no kidding.. Plus they don't specify that you have to be of any status just first class. Yippie!

For what its worth the only lounges I have been in any time in the past ten years have been the RCC's and CRC at DEN. So I can only go up from them.. Right?
ERS is offline  
Old Mar 11, 09, 5:26 pm   #21
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DC
Programs: Delta Gold, United, American
Posts: 1,014
I status matched to Premier Exec for a trip to Vancouver next week. If I don't have a MP Card with Star Gold on, are they going to giving me trouble? I should be able to use the RCC's in DCA and ORD on the way there and any Star lounge in YVR and the RCC in SFO on the way back, right?
kahuna613 is offline  
Old Mar 11, 09, 5:44 pm   #22
  
Join Date: May 2001
Location: RNO, NV, USA.
Programs: UA 1K 2MM
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahuna613 View Post
I status matched to Premier Exec for a trip to Vancouver next week. If I don't have a MP Card with Star Gold on, are they going to giving me trouble? I should be able to use the RCC's in DCA and ORD on the way there and any Star lounge in YVR and the RCC in SFO on the way back, right?
You may have problems entering the Maple Leaf Lounge in YVR. In my experience, I'm usually asked to show my MP Star Alliance Gold card.
restlessinRNO is offline  
Old Mar 11, 09, 9:32 pm   #23
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG/YYZ
Programs: UA Plat, AC, AA, DL, Marriott Gold, Hyatt
Posts: 10,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahuna613 View Post
I status matched to Premier Exec for a trip to Vancouver next week. If I don't have a MP Card with Star Gold on, are they going to giving me trouble? I should be able to use the RCC's in DCA and ORD on the way there and any Star lounge in YVR and the RCC in SFO on the way back, right?
If you don't have a card by then, print up your MP page online showing your status - it might not work, but it has a much better chance of working than if you don't have it. Haven't visited YVR MLL in a long time, but in YYZ, they always ask for cards now to verify status.
emcampbe is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 6:42 am   #24
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DC
Programs: Delta Gold, United, American
Posts: 1,014
Isn't Star Gold printed on your boarding pass?
kahuna613 is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 7:20 am   #25
  
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Programs: UA Gold 1MM, Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahuna613 View Post
I status matched to Premier Exec for a trip to Vancouver next week. If I don't have a MP Card with Star Gold on, are they going to giving me trouble? I should be able to use the RCC's in DCA and ORD on the way there and any Star lounge in YVR and the RCC in SFO on the way back, right?
As a *G, you have access to the *A lounge at your departure international gateway city only.

This means access to the ORD RCC on your outbound and the MLL in YVR. You won't be allowed in at DCA or SFO.

I would call and try to get a card sent to you right away. The MLL folks are usually very picky about seeing a card.
mrswirl is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 7:38 am   #26
sfo
  
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Programs: UA Gold UA MM
Posts: 1,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shareholder View Post
Tax is payable on flights travelling within 500-miles of the Canadian border. If the flight originates in the US more than 500-miles, tax is not payable on the inbound segment, just the return. (We collect taxes to pay for things like universal health care, so thank you for your contribution to our better health standing than found in your own country.) IATA may consider any flight between two countries to be international, but airlines in this part of the world use the term "transborder" when referring to flights between USA and Canada, and USA and Mexico.

At SFO access would not be provided to the SQ lounge since flights to Canada depart from the UA domestic terminal and security will limit access to/from the international terminal.



Ask your last President. However, as just noted, flights to/from Canada operate from the domestic terminal (US customs/immigraton does pre-clearance at the Canadian airport) and thus check-in is done at the domestic check-in area, not the international one.
In Vancouver, flights to the USA DO NOT depart from the domestic terminal but from the USA departures level 3. The Domestic Terminal is at the other end of the airport.
sfo is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 7:41 am   #27
ERS
  
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MHT, BOS, DEN
Programs: Delta, United, PC Platinum
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfo View Post
In Vancouver, flights to the USA DO NOT depart from the domestic terminal but from the USA departures level 3. The Domestic Terminal is at the other end of the airport.
I take it the Vancouver Transborder MLL is accessible after US customs?
ERS is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 9:31 am   #28
  
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Programs: SPG Platinum, HH Diamond, MR/RC Plat, KLM Plat, AS MVPG75K, UA Gold
Posts: 191
Flying SFO-YVR in FIRST on UA next month, was wondering if anyone has had luck accessing the SQ KrisSilver Lounge in SFO now that the domestc-international walkway has been opened? Since the boarding pass will state "United First" and will be from the United States to Canada what are the odds of getting into the SQ F side of the lounge
PDXbased1K is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 10:12 am   #29
  
Join Date: Mar 2007
Programs: UA MP, NW WP, AA
Posts: 490
I was on a SFO-Calgary flight two years ago and had no problem getting to the SQ lounge using my boarding pass and my UA MP card. Just a word of caution: the Canadian flights might not depart from the international terminal so make sure you give yourself plenty of time to walk back to your departure gate.
LAX/HKG is offline  
Old Mar 12, 09, 11:16 am   #30
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DC
Programs: Delta Gold, United, American
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrswirl View Post
As a *G, you have access to the *A lounge at your departure international gateway city only.

This means access to the ORD RCC on your outbound and the MLL in YVR. You won't be allowed in at DCA or SFO.

I would call and try to get a card sent to you right away. The MLL folks are usually very picky about seeing a card.
Is this correct?

Here is the vague language from united.com:

Star Alliance lounges
When traveling internationally on any Star Alliance member airline, present your same-day international ticket and your Premier Executive card, and you may relax in any Star Alliance lounge. Look for the "Star Alliance Gold" sign outside eligible lounges.

and from staralliance.com

Star Alliance Gold Customers Travelling in Any Class: Customers have access to any Star Alliance member carriers' owned lounges with the Star Alliance Gold logo at the entrance.

* Customer must present a valid frequent flyer programme Star Alliance Gold level card
* Customer must also present a boarding card for a same day Star Alliance flight departing from the local airport
* Customer is entitled to one guest
* United and US Airways Star Alliance Gold customers may only access the Red Carpet Club and US Airways Clubs within the U.S. when travelling in conjunction with a Star Alliance international flight.

I wish United would make this a little bit clearer on their site.....won't plan on getting to DCA very early then! Thanks for the info.
kahuna613 is offline  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top