Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

One Way Ticket to Europe - Does United Check Onwards Travel at Check In?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 17, 2017, 2:55 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Hey Everyone,

I'm doing a year long study abroad trip in Europe. Yeah!

I received a one-way award ticket with United and plan to book the return trip at a later stage after I land in Europe.

I've been reading that some airlines will check for onwards travel otherwise they will deny boarding.

Does United do that? I have all the appropriate student visa documents that show I can reside in the country for a year.

The only wrinkle is that I'm studying in France but not flying into France (but a Schengen country).

Thx
Old Aug 17, 2017, 3:50 am

Programs: DL Gold / Accor Gold
In theory they can denied your boarding because you don't have a return ticket (this is not because the company, but rules on EU).

On the other hand, if you have a valid visa for one year, it's impossible to have a return ticket right now because they cannot sell tickets over one year :-)

You don't need to care about the immigration point. If you have a valid visa for a Schengen country, you're welcome but, be sure that your visa is ok and all documents. Without it, the immigration can cut your stay and send you back to home.

The official rules are here: http://europa.eu/youreurope/citizens...s/index_en.htm
AceReport likes this.
Old Aug 17, 2017, 4:07 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Thanks. I was thinking of getting an award ticket back to the US is it a good idea?

Should it be 90 days out or can it be longer?

Finally, will United care that I'm flying into another EU country but have a visa for France?

Originally Posted by pmichelazzo
In theory they can denied your boarding because you don't have a return ticket (this is not because the company, but rules on EU).