Search

Alternative FX and money transfer service? Fed up with Revolut

Search this Thread

Old Feb 18, 2017, 2:39 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K
Alternative FX and money transfer service? Fed up with Revolut

I've been using Revolut for about 18 months now and getting fed up with the service. I use it mainly to transfer money between various GBP/EUR/USD accounts I hold in different countries because the FX rates are much better than those offered by the bank. For example, a typical EUR/GBP exchange of €10,000 typically saves me at least £200.

For those that are not familiar with the service, it's app-based and you can load up your GBP/EUR/USD 'accounts' held with Revolut either by debit card top up or by direct transfer. Within the app you can then exchange between currencies and then send money to another bank account. Transfers each take a few days.

For the last five or six months I've had to chase up every single transfer. The typical procedure now is that I contact support through the app, have a long-winded conversation with someone (usually Russian) in which no new information is provided from my side, and which ends with 'please look harder for the money I wired you last week...oh yes, I see it, I will update your account now, is there anything else I can help you with?'

They have recently moved their business from Barclays to Lloyds (no idea why), but it was pretty poor service even before. I've looked at Caxton FX but that doesn't seem to accept SEPA transfer (maybe I'm wrong). Can anyone suggest an alternative please?

(Maybe this ought to be posted elsewhere but thought the UK forum was as good a place as any to start).
Old Feb 18, 2017, 2:45 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: HH Gold, BA Silver, Accor Silver