Search

HKG-BKK(-CMB) via DOH and LHR on QR J, CX PE, UL J

Search this Thread

Old Mar 21, 2015, 1:24 am
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge

Programs: Oneworld, *A; Hilton, SPG
HKG-BKK(-CMB) via DOH and LHR on QR J, CX PE, UL J

Hello there, this is my first attempt at a trip report (as previous attempts have failed due to procrastination). Hope it ain't too shabby, and excuse any shortcomings.

So my aim was to get from HKG to LHR before heading to CMB:

This report should cover (if I get to the end of it):
1) HKG: QF The Hong Kong Lounge and CX The Bridge
2) HKG-BKK: CX
3) BKK: QF, JL and CX lounges, a comparison of oneworld offerings
4) BKK-DOH: QR
5) DOH: Al Mourjan Business Lounge
6) DOH-LHR: QR
7) LHR: QR Premium Lounge
8) LHR-DOH: QR
9) DOH-BKK: QR

Unfortunately, the last leg BKK-CMB on UL will not be covered as I was too tired and did not take any photos.

One of the reasons I went with QR other than price was because there was an offer for bonus miles when flying the A380

Bonus: Hilton London Paddington, GWR Tower room

Last edited by jdtravels; Apr 6, 2015 at 12:29 am
Old Mar 21, 2015, 1:24 am
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge

HKG: QF lounge and CX The Bridge

I took the Airport Express train from the city to the airport, and took around 30 minutes including waiting for the train. For those who don't know, you may choose to check in at the train station should you be boarding at Hong Kong or Kowloon stations. I chose to check in at the airport, however, as I didn't really have that many bags to carry around.

Check in at HKG was a breeze, as always. I queued in the Premium Economy lane at the CX counters, before my FFP card being spotted by a member of staff and being directed to the front of the queue (embarrassing moment here). Worth noting that the J and dedicated Marco Polo club/FFP counters are in another aisle at the CX hub. Security, as usual, was quick and efficient, and before long I was off to revisit my favourite HKG lounges.