Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Cheapest way to schedule multi-city trip?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 9, 2000, 12:01 pm
Original Poster

Hello there, I am completely new to travelling so please forgive me if I am asking an obvious question.

I will be travelling all over the US later this summer. My itinerary is flexible. However, I have no idea how to schedule when I go where in order to come up with the cheapest cost. I will be spending 2 or 3 days in anywhere from 6 - 10 major US cities.

I can do it all in one trip, or split it up in order to not get hit with the weekday business traveler's fares, which are outrageous. But I cannot do each city over a weekend...that would take too long, despite the Saturday night stay deals.

Of course I am considering getting a travel agent to do the work for me, but how do I trust that the agent really got me the best deal? Plus I tend to like to do things myself - I'm a wee bit of a control freak Obviously I would try to get it all on one airline in order to get some FF miles, although I still need to do the research on which program is the most user-friendly.

Any assistance would be very much appreciated. Thank you for reading this!

spygrrl

------------------
Mean people suck.
Old May 9, 2000, 12:30 pm

First off, welcome to FlyerTalk.

Now, your questions could fill volumes...so you need to answer some questions before any of us can offer to help. I'm sure I'll forget a few, but others will pick-up on this topic also.

1. Do you have an airline preference, or member of any specific FF programs? If not, you definitely want to join 1 or more to maximize your earning potential.
2. Based in Chicago, your obvious choices would seem to be UA or AA, but not totally necessarily.
3. What cities will you be travelling to? With airline alliances & geographics, this could make a difference which 'primary' or 'secondary' airline you choose.