Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Australia to Europe trip: book air first or hotel first?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 31, 2015, 6:16 pm
Suspended
Original Poster

Hi im newbie here so please forgive me if.. Im in the wrong area of the forum to ask this question

I want to make my trip to Europe from Australia. What is the most important part when dealing this online bookings, Should i look at the hotel availability first before dealing a airline ticket or airline ticket first and worry about the hotel accommodation later ?

I want to make my trip in a few months time. So pretty long yet to wait. I know the hotel i want i can book it in and pay when i get there. Or pay now and don't need to pay when i arrive.

Can this aloud the same thing for airline tickets or its a must to pay straight away online ?

thank you
Old Jan 31, 2015, 7:48 pm

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, National Executive
Originally Posted by citro
Hi im newbie here so please forgive me if.. Im in the wrong area of the forum to ask this question

I want to make my trip to Europe from Australia. What is the most important part when dealing this online bookings, Should i look at the hotel availability first before dealing a airline ticket or airline ticket first and worry about the hotel accommodation later ?

I want to make my trip in a few months time. So pretty long yet to wait. I know the hotel i want i can book it in and pay when i get there. Or pay now and don't need to pay when i arrive.

Can this aloud the same thing for airline tickets or its a must to pay straight away online ?

thank you
You are indeed in the wrong place, but welcome to FT!

Most often if you prepay you will lock yourself in and have no hope for a refund if your plans change. Typically I will book a flight and hotel at the same time, pay on check in. I will then recheck hotels periodically for a drop in rates.
Old Jan 31, 2015, 8:33 pm
Senior Moderator