Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Pilots pointing out landmarks below: Love it or hate it?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 14, 2010, 8:00 am
Original Poster

Do you like it or hate it when the pilot tells you the Grand Canyon is outside your window? I love finding out what I'm looking at when I fly. I'm a writer at the Chicago Tribune, and am writing a column about how people feel about pilots as tour guides. If you would like to add your thoughts to this column, please post to this thread or email me, either through this site or at [email protected].
Thanks and happy flying,
Barbara Brotman
Old Jan 14, 2010, 8:53 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Love it. From what I've read in the news, the Islamic panty bomber's failed attempt for yet another mass murder has led to TSA considering having the pilots NOT give out that information.
Old Jan 14, 2010, 9:31 am

Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Add my vote as in favor of.
Old Jan 14, 2010, 9:47 am

Programs: DL Plat,AA Plat,UA 1Peon,SW(WN) Passing Grade
Even after being in a job that requires daily flying for 20-some years, I like hearing about sights from the cockpit. Some may complain that it wakes them up, but most planes these days are noisy with chattering folks and wailing kids. Americans tend to know little about geography, so it's helpful to announce on a Chicago-Dallas flight that "the big river you see below is the Mississippi" , or the flights Chicago-to-NY often feature nice views of islands in Lake Erie off Ohio (who knew?) or the narrow waterway leading to Lake Ontario near Buffalo where Niagra Falls is located. Flights crossing the mountains in Colorado where you see snow on peaks even when it's warm in Chicago could clue passeengers in that the "mountains below are about 12,000 feet high so still have snow, while we are flying at 32,000 feet."