Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Starwood | Starwood Preferred Guest
Reload this Page >

Newbie to FT, Need help finding a destination in december in or close to US.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 6, 2015, 2:21 pm
Original Poster

Hi,

I'm new to flyertalk. My wife and two kids (1.5 years and 5 years) are looking to travel to a beach destination in December for under a week. We are AA members and Starwood members. I've got about 400,000 points and am Platinum on Starwood.

We've stayed at the W Fort Lauderdale last year so we'd prefer something else.

I'd love some input on the best points values at Starwoods in the winter time.

We are looking at beaches since it's easy play time for the kids and my wife prefers warmth. However, I'd be open to hearing suggestions on colder destinations that folks know that can be family friendly with toddlers (might be a shot in the dark).

Additionally, given the age of the kids, we'd prefer to limit the flying times and # of flight stops. Can't have it all but that's the preference.

Please let me know if I need to post this elsewhere or if there's any other info I can provide.

Thanks so much!
Old Oct 6, 2015, 3:05 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Caribbean (requires passports for everyone) and Hawaii are the obvious choices. Florida and southern California can be cold for little ones to go in the ocean, but a heated kid-friendly pool might solve the problem.
Old Oct 6, 2015, 3:15 pm

Programs: AA EXP/2MM, SPG Lifetime Platinum, Marriott PLT, National Exec Elite
Puerto Rico exempts the passport need, and all of the properties that have Beach access in PR are very nice.
Old Oct 6, 2015, 3:19 pm

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Originally Posted by atxtraveler