Search

Club Lounge Over Indulging.

Search this Thread

Old Mar 31, 2016, 4:17 pm
BFG
Original Poster

Programs: SPG Platinum
Club Lounge Over Indulging.

I've visited club lounges hundreds of times. I've been staying at a hotel almost nightly for a couple of months. I've never seen so many people pile several plates of apertizers, take so much "to-go" food and take so many cans of soda at once ever! What's the proper etiquette?
Old Mar 31, 2016, 4:32 pm
RZR

Programs: ✈ AC 1MM / S100K - SPG Lifetime Platinum = BONVoY Lifetime Titanium
Proper is to eat in lounge. Grab a bottle of water on exit perhaps
Old Mar 31, 2016, 4:49 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.035MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CCC Elite+; MSC C-12; CWC Au-197; WoH Dis
I think the proper etiquette is to sit back and laugh at the people making spectacles of themselves.
Old Mar 31, 2016, 4:52 pm

Not gonna lie, I'm gonna soak up every dollar in value I can from my SPG points while I can. If that means taking a sip of a San Pellegrino and throwing the rest away, so be it. Cookies? I'll take a bite and leave the rest like a parent trying to prove to their kid that Santa is real. Bottled water, grab five or six and throw em in the carryon. Screw Marriott!
Old Mar 31, 2016, 4:55 pm
RZR

What do points have to do with this?
Old Mar 31, 2016, 5:35 pm

I generally agree with the should-behave principle... but I recently looked at the rates for a vanilla room and a club room with lounge access at a hotel with a great lounge spread.

Same room type, double the price. So I believe those who pay for this vs Plats who get it complimentary... well I'm sure they really try to get every cent out of it...
Old Mar 31, 2016, 5:43 pm
Suspended

Programs: Delta - Gold; Starwood - Platinum; HHonors - Diamond & Avis Preferred
Originally Posted by BFG