Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 28, 11, 2:20 am   #1
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BHX, UK
Programs: FB GOLD, ST ElitePlus, IC Ambassador, Priority Club Platinum
Posts: 51
Booking mistake with Air France KLM. Please help!!

Hi guys!

Just need some advice! Before anyone says yes I know it's my fault!

I made a booking a week back from Birmingham to Delhi on KLM via Amsterdam. I found a really good offer on a travel agency website and booked it but the website crashed! The booking did not go through and so I tried again, however in my frustration and rush I booked the wrong connecting flight! I now have a 10 hour stopover in Amsterdam instead of a 55 minute one!!

I've spoken to both the travel agency and KLM and they have said it's my own fault, as it's a special fare and I can't change it!!

Any suggestions?? I really don't want to sit in the Crown Lounge at AMS for 10 hours!
SeeTheWorld1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 11, 2:25 am   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MCO
Programs: A member of Generation "Y"
Posts: 865
If it were me, I'd use the error as a chance to get out and explore Amsterdam for a few hours.
LizzyDragon84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 11, 2:40 am   #3
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ARN
Programs: SK EBG, BAEC Gold, LH FTL, FBP, CCG, HH Diamond
Posts: 793
There are far worse places than AMS to be stuck for 10h. Just go into town for a few hours and do some sightseeing.
agehall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 11, 4:42 am   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia
Programs: AF/KL Plat (ST E+), VA Plat, BA Silver (1W Saph), and for collecting some left-over miles: LH M&M
Posts: 1,637
[quote=agehall;17525310]There are far worse places than AMS to be stuck for 10h. Just go into town for a few hours and do some sightseeing.[/QUOTE
I agree. Amsterdam is really a cool place to explore.
cityflyer369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 11, 5:36 am   #5
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AMS / ATH
Programs: Flying Blue Gold, Aegean Gold
Posts: 2,756
I think you are out of luck here. If the ticket rules do not allow changes, you will be stuck with the current routing and timing.

Aside from that I would say that your desired routing is a risky one...55 minute transfer time to longhaul is very short imho.
Xandrios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 11, 2:39 am   #6
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BHX, UK
Programs: FB GOLD, ST ElitePlus, IC Ambassador, Priority Club Platinum
Posts: 51
Oh well! Suppose it's my own fault! I'll try and ask them at Delhi, to see if they can put me on the earlier flight if they have free seats. Hopefully they'll be kinder than there call centre staff!
SeeTheWorld1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 11, 2:44 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PARIS (France)
Programs: AF/KLM FB Plat|InterContinental Plat RA|HHonnors VIP Gold|A Club Sofitel Plat|AMEX Plat|Visa Plat
Posts: 7,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by LizzyDragon84 View Post
If it were me, I'd use the error as a chance to get out and explore Amsterdam for a few hours.
+1

Are 55 minutes for connection a bit too tight?
nicolas75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 11, 8:13 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SFO / JFK
Programs: Variety of rectangular cards with my name on it
Posts: 539
It is quite easy to go into town from AMS. It's like a 30 minute train ride and with 10 hours, I'm sure you will find lots to do in Amsterdam. Quite a fun city IMHO.
KissFlyGoodbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 11, 9:01 pm   #9
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 12,732
It is unlikely that you can get it changed, I would guess that the conditions of your fare do not allow such changes, hence why you are asking here. The only thing you might want to try and only if you are travelling carry-on only is that if you arrive with enough time, try going to the transfer desk and see if they would be willing to put you on the earlier flight, you may get lucky inasmuch as they may have a potential overbooking situation on the later flight, some sort of irrops that they expect or other extenuating circumstance whereby it would be in their favour to put you on an earlier flight. Otherwise you are out of luck.
hfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 11, 11:51 am   #10
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Italy
Programs: AZ CFP (ST E+), BA Silver
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeTheWorld1984 View Post
Any suggestions?? I really don't want to sit in the Crown Lounge at AMS for 10 hours!
At 27, you are REALLY considering to spend 10 hours at the airport, instead of exploring one of the nicest cities in Europe? :-)

Get out, jump on the train, spend 6 hours in the city and go back. Lazy scoundrel!
raistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 11, 9:53 am   #11
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistlin View Post
At 27, you are REALLY considering to spend 10 hours at the airport, instead of exploring one of the nicest cities in Europe? :-)

Get out, jump on the train, spend 6 hours in the city and go back. Lazy scoundrel!
We don't know the OP's nationality, only his current place of residence. He may well need a visa to leave the airport.
Aviatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 11, 10:26 am   #12
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Italy
Programs: AZ CFP (ST E+), BA Silver
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aviatrix View Post
We don't know the OP's nationality, only his current place of residence. He may well need a visa to leave the airport.
He may well need a visa also to transit, what's the point of this observation exactly ? :-)
raistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 11, 12:40 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: PVD, IXE, (formerly DEL, HYD, PNQ)
Programs: AI Silver, OZ Diamond Plus, A3 Gold, UA Silver, TK Elite, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 5,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistlin View Post
He may well need a visa also to transit, what's the point of this observation exactly ? :-)
Because for citizens of India, getting a visa is enough of a headache that sitting in an airport for 10 hours doesn't sound too bad...
__________________
Editor of AeroBlogger.
PVDtoDEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 11, 2:20 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistlin View Post
He may well need a visa also to transit, what's the point of this observation exactly ? :-)
As it happens... if he is an Indian citizen resident in the UK then he doesn't need an airside transit visa (I guessed as much before, but have now checked)
Aviatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 11, 11:38 pm   #15
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 22,791
A booking that's week old is not covered by the 24hour role, assuming KLM does observe that rule in Europe.
I have made such mistakes too, but haven't had to pay for those mistakes, as I discovered the mistake within minutes after booking and the 24 hour rule always came to rescue.

As luck would have it, minutes after reading this thread, I made a booking with KLM, on KLM,com and picked the wrong filghts on the inbound. I can live with the ones I chose.
I am on the phone with KLM (Actually Delta). The agent is trying to make the changes as we speak.

A week after the mistake is too long. NO one could help in that situation.
Yaatri is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:11 am.