Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Waitlist question

Search this Thread

Old Aug 22, 2015, 8:53 pm
Original Poster

Waitlist question

I'm planning a trip to Vietnam for my wife and I and would love to fly Singapore's Suites on our return to the US using a combination of Amex and Chase points. I finally figured out that I need to search each segment separately in order to identify availability (since there is no first class between Vietnam and Singapore, every search for every date shows no suites availabilty). I have also come to the realization that I will need to book J seats and waitlist the suites.

Given that the first class/suites availability doesn't show when I search SGN-LAX and that it only shows when I search SIN-LAX, how do I both secure at least J seats for the entire itinerary, while also waitlisting a suites award? I can't be the first one to encounter this dilemma, so I'd love to hear strategies that have been successful for others.

Disclaimers:
1) I am very new to the points/miles game, but have done tons of research, including extensive reading/searching of this site, so my question isn't out of the blue. Please go easy on this newb.....

2) While I am really excited about getting to experience Singapore's suites, I'd be ok with flying business class if my waitlist approach fails to yield any results.
Old Aug 25, 2015, 7:54 pm
Original Poster

Nobody knows how to book the business class seats and waitlist the suites when the suites doesn't show up on the search for the entire itinerary? My concern is that I will only be waitlisting SIN-NRT-LAX and if seats become available, I won't have availability on the corresponding SGN-SIN flight unless I can waitlist the entire itinerary....

I'm dumbfounded that this legitimate (granted, my perception) question doesn't merit a response and the frankly ridiculous rant about an itinerary change that changed a one hour layover to a five hour layover has resulted in two pages worth of responses