Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Multiple CC accounts feeding to an AA account?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 12, 2008, 11:43 am
Original Poster

Multiple CC accounts feeding to an AA account?

Hi all -

I have a citi AA mastercard that gives me AA points... I noticed a bonus offer for the citi card that gives like 25k points & was thinking about having my wife sign up for her own card.

Can she set it up to deposit it into my AA account so that all of our points stay together? Didn't know if the names had to match on the MC account & AA account or some such thing...

Thanks!
Old Feb 12, 2008, 11:49 am

Programs: AA EXP 0.8MM, Skyward, SPG Gold
Why pay annual fees for 2 CC if you want the points to go to one account only?
Old Feb 12, 2008, 11:51 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

I'm fairly certain that you can't designate someone else's AAdvantage account as the recipient for your Citi AAdantage card miles. I'm too lazy to look in the fine print, but I'd wager real money it's in there.
Old Feb 12, 2008, 11:58 am

Programs: Hilton Diamond, AA Lifetime Gold
Just to clarify: Is it 100K AA miles per credit card per year or per AA account?
Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:01 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP 3MM, Lifetime Platinum, Marriott Titanium, HH Gold
The principal cardholder's name must match the name on the AAdvantage account (or be pretty darn close to it).

If you want your wife's purchases to earn miles to your account, why not just make her an authorized user on your account? No further annual fee.
Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:23 pm

Programs: AA LT PLT, SPG Gold
Originally Posted by trach500
Just to clarify: Is it 100K AA miles per credit card per year or per AA account?
Credit card. There are people who sign up for a new AA card (or multiple cards) every month or two, spend the few hundred dollars necessary to earn the sign up bonus, cancel the card and repeat. They earn hundreds of thousands (in some cases millions) of AA miles per year this way.
Old Feb 12, 2008, 12:26 pm