Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Europe
Reload this Page >

Starting to plan for Italy -tips/tricks/advice?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11, 2004, 4:19 pm
Original Poster

Hello all,
I'm just getting started on researching a trip to Italy in early September... well, to fess up, it's really our honeymoon Anyway, these boards were such a huge help with planning our Japan trip last spring, and I'm hoping to find the same expertise for Italy!

We're thinking of going for 10-14 days, leaving SFO area on Sept. 5 or 6. I haven't yet narrowed down which towns/cities/areas to include on the trip, so....
-when should I start looking for cheap flights? I'm finding some $750 flights now, but there have to be lower fares out there (I hope)...
-what are the secret but cool places we shouldn't miss? We've never been to Italy before, so the traditional tourist spots are of course on our list, but we don't want to rush around like crazy trying to see everything. Where should we spend our time? (I've heard Siena is gorgeous, for example)
-What's the weather like in early Sept? And should we expect more/less crowds than usual? I have heard that many European schools are actually on break in early Sept...
-are we going to be OK with not speaking a drop of Italian beyond basic phrases in guidebooks?

Any and all advice is much appreciated!
Thanks,
Stephanie
Old Feb 11, 2004, 6:31 pm
Moderator: Delta SkyMiles, Luxury Hotels, TravelBuzz! and Italy

ez062718
You have posted many great questions and it is difficult to know where to begin. First, let me say that I am pleased that you have discovered the beauty of FT and the many resources it offers.