Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Luxury Hotels and Travel
Reload this Page >

Newbie here -- how does a booking with FSPP / Virtuoso agent work?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 23, 2015, 9:21 pm
Original Poster

Dear all,

I am a newbie here. I hope you guys dont mind if I ask some elementary questions.

I browsed the forum and is interested to book the Four Seasons Bora Bora for several nights for my upcoming trip.

My questions are:
(i) does the travel agent charges any commission from me if I book through them?

(ii) do I need to give the travel agent my credit card details?

(iii) do I pay at the hotel or I pay the advance payment to the agent?

I dont fully understand the mechanism -- if there is any problem (e.g. being double charged, failure for the hotel to provide the additional benefits), how I can complain / follow up with an agent who may be thousand miles away from my home country?

Thanks all and have a happy weekend!
Old Apr 23, 2015, 10:16 pm

Programs: Virtuoso
I am sure you are not the only person wanting to know, so please don't worry about asking.

I can only answer for Virtuoso, but I am sure Amex FHR is similar.

The hotel property pays the commission to the travel advisor/agency. Depending on what you are specifically looking for (what level of service - hotel, rental cars, excursions, transfers, etc) , some travel advisors will charge a fee.

Yes, we will need your credit card information to reserve the room for you. There is really no other way around this. We reserve it for you with the Virtuoso rate, you pay the hotel upon checkout (assuming no prepaid rate to the hotel was selected) and the hotel then pays the advisor/agency.