Last edit by: mfkne
Print Wikipost

The little useful things no one thinks of

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27, 2015, 9:07 am
Original Poster

Programs: Aeroplan, AAdvantage
The little useful things no one thinks of

I will start: a teaspoon. It's surprising how often you wish you had a utensil and a little spoon takes no space or weight. (I just bought a spork + case, I will report back how well it works)
Old Jan 27, 2015, 10:42 am

Programs: AA ExPlat, UA Silver, Marriott Lifetime Gold
I've been carrying a spork for the last two months since my client went "green" and no more plastic utensils are provided.

It's a little annoying having to wash it twice a day but serves me well.
KRSW likes this.
Old Jan 27, 2015, 11:16 am

Always pack disposable spoon, fork and knife cadged from fast food places. Maybe you buy something to eat at a store that doesn't provide utensils, maybe they get left out of your takeout order.
Old Jan 27, 2015, 11:18 am

Programs: DL Silver, AS MVP, UA Silver, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Plat, SPG Plat, National Exec Elite
I carry a dual-plug 12v usb charger and extra lightning/micro-USB cables because my co-workers rarely remember to bring a car charger with them and pack even their USB cables in their main luggage (usually in the trunk) for whatever reason.

I can honestly say I've not, to date, been in a position where I've had food but no utensils to eat with... though after reading this and NOT packing them it'll likely happen on my next trip.
Old Jan 27, 2015, 11:30 am

Programs: UAL 1k, MM flyer, Marriott Gold, Global Entry
A white 6-foot 3-plug extension cord. Comes in handy at the airport when there aren't enough wall plugs, or you don't want to sit on the floor, and in the hotel when there isn't an convenient plug near the bed. White ... because it's more noticeable and less likely to leave behind. Definitely a must when traveling abroad. Only one adapter needed, and you get three outlets.
cybill234 and KRSW like this.