Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Direct AA angle flat or connecting BA flat seat

Search this Thread

Old Aug 21, 2015, 10:49 am
Original Poster

I am planning a honeymoon that starts with a round trip business class flight from Miami to Barcelona. I am paying with cash and this is my first time on business class, so I want to get a pretty good value. The departure will be overnight and the return will be during the day. The first option is a british airways flight on 747-400 with lie flat seats that connects though Heathrow and is about $150 cheaper. The second option is an american 777-200 V1 with angle flat seats that is a direct flight from MIA to BCN. The dates and times work out a little better as well. What is the difference for sleeping and food?
Old Aug 21, 2015, 10:54 am
Ambassador: LATAM

Programs: BAEC Silver
Is there no way you can get IB on this route or on MIA MAD BCN at least? That is a much nicer business class product than both the options you are considering.
Old Aug 21, 2015, 10:54 am

Programs: BA Gold, HHonors Diamond

Having flown on both, I would recommend British airways. Uppercase on the BA 747 service is a great place to be.
Old Aug 21, 2015, 11:10 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by JohnnyColombia
Is there no way you can get IB on this route or on MIA MAD BCN at least? That is a much nicer business class product than both the options you are considering.
Yes, I can but it seems like it would be $570 more than BA and $435 more than AA. Is it that much better?
Old Aug 21, 2015, 11:24 am

Originally Posted by apere006
Yes, I can but it seems like it would be $570 more than BA and $435 more than AA. Is it that much better?
I just checked and it's an A330 operates that route. If it has new business class then you can get the two middle seats next to each other. Very private and would be lovely for a honeymoon probably. I don't think you'd find many people argue that the BA Club World seat or AA angled seat is better