Community
Wiki Posts
Search

SL Access card for child discount?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19, 2016, 9:53 am
Original Poster

SL Access card for child discount?

Unfortunately, it seems my 12 year old will just missed free travel on Stockholm public transit over our holiday weekend trip (Easter) - the rule appears to be under 12. That's fine though - he hasn't been free at home on public transit in years!

But how does he get the discounted fare? Does he carry his own SL Access card that is coded to the discount? How does this work?

Thanks!
Old Jan 19, 2016, 12:29 pm

Programs: Mainly Hilton Hhonors, SAS Eurobonus
I am assuming that you want a 24 or 72 hours ticket.
In that case, yes each person has to buy an Access Card (20 SEK) and load the ticket on. Ask for a reduced price 24 or 72 hours ticket for your son.
The Access Cards (with the tickets on) can be bought in the airport at the entrance to the commuter train.

Zone tickets I have no experience with.
Old Jan 19, 2016, 12:35 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by helosc
I am assuming that you want a 24 or 72 hours ticket.
In that case, yes each person has to buy an Access Card (20 SEK) and load the ticket on. Ask for a reduced price 24 or 72 hours ticket for your son.
The Access Cards (with the tickets on) can be bought in the airport at the entrance to the commuter train.

Zone tickets I have no experience with.
We'll be there for 5 days. I was hoping I can just top up the card with a prepaid value that each ride deducts from?
Old Jan 19, 2016, 11:46 pm

Programs: Mainly Hilton Hhonors, SAS Eurobonus
Yes you can.
On this link choose 'Visitors Tickets' and then 'Zone Tickets' to read about it.
http://sl.se/en/fares--tickets/

As mentioned earlier, I have never used these tickets. Someone else'll have to help you there.

Do a calculation though, it might be worth it to buy a 72 hours ticket and a 24 hours ticket to cover your stay.