Wiki Posts
Search

Need your advice on booking award trip for honeymoon

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19, 2013, 9:47 pm
Original Poster

Hi,
I am brand new to booking award redemptions (especially flights) and I'm trying to book a trip for my honeymoon, which we are planning to take August 28th - September 7th of this year. We are very flexible on dates (and even location). One goal is to maximize point redemptions.

With that said, we decided to go to Hawaii and French Polynesia after a lot of thought (mostly for the "free" stopover via American Airlines on international flights). What is the best way to book this trip using points and getting the best value?

Points summary (breakdown between me and spouse in parenthesis):

Southwest: 80,000 (60K + 20K)
AA: 170,000 (70K + 100K)
Hawaiian: 70,000
SPG: 45,000
Hilton: 240,000
Marriott: 30,000
Membership Rewards: 100,000

Hotel status:

Hilton: Gold
Starwood: Gold

Select credit cards with benefits:

Amex Platinum, SPG, Hilton Surpass

I'm pretty sure I can figure out how to maximize points with the SPG and Hilton cards. I'm new to the Platinum and will try to take advantage of the lounge access. I am pretty sure I have a handle on the inter-island flights in Hawaii and French Polynesia (and ferries).

This is what I'm thinking:

- LAS-HNL-PPT on Hawaiian Airlines via AA points because of the free stopover in HNL
- In HNL, we'll go to Kauai and stay at a Starwood for a few days using cash & points.
- HNL-PPT using the second leg of the HA ticket via AA. Since the flight gets in at 11pm on Saturday nights, we'll burn a night in Tahiti at some random place
- PPT-MOG via inter-island (Air Tahiti) and stay 2 nights at Hilton Morea using points (if it's a VIP redemption, I may book 4 nights using AXON for 145,000 Hilton Honors points but only stay 2-3 nights).
- MOG-BOB via Air Tahiti and stay 4 nights at Hilton Bora Bora using AXON
- BOB-PPT