Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Can I get insurance for a miles trip?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 4, 2010, 4:10 pm
Original Poster

Can I get insurance for a miles trip?

I have been accumulating miles and hotel points for a couple of years ... and just booked a trip using both airline miles and hotel points. So my actual out of pocket cost is very low.

Question: Because I had to book early to take advantage of the airline miles program, my trip is about 6 months from now. In the event that one of the travelers gets sick around the time of our trip... Is there a way to get some trip insurance that would compensate me for the miles and points I may loose if I had to cancel this trip at the last minute?
Old Feb 4, 2010, 4:18 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Probably not. Insurance has to be based on a certain value. Mileage ticket has no face value other than the taxes and fees incurred. Hotel award nights have 0 face value.

Most FF programs allow you to cancel the award and re-deposit your miles for a fee such as $150. Check yours to find out.

Most hotel programs allow you to cancel the award bookings BEFORE a deadline without fee. Passed the deadline the first night rack rate is charged. Or, in PEAK demand period, such as New Year Eve in Sydney, a deposit of $$$ is required to secure the award booking and the deposit of $$$ would be forfeited if canceled passed the deadline.
Old Feb 4, 2010, 5:00 pm

Programs: Air: Many; Hotel: HH D, HY G, IHG P, MR S, RR