Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air France, KLM, and Other Partners | Flying Blue > KLM Flying Dutchman
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 17, 05, 7:08 am   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: AMS (SEA, JNB)
Programs: Mucci Reperateur des Coeurs Brises
Posts: 3,959
Extra Thorough Immigration at Schiphol now?

I arrived at AMS with BA at the D-pier, and waited for almost an hour in line for immigration. The queue stretched up past the escalators into the departure hall, and area below was packed with people. I have always been able to get through immigration/customs at AMS in a flash, so this came as something of a surprise.

Is there some specific threat immigration is looking for, or are immigration officials in the Netherlands simply becoming more strict?
SchmeckFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 05, 7:11 am   #2
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cheltenham
Programs: KLM Plat for Life BMI Gold LH Senator Priority Club Gold Hilton Silver TK Gold Aegean Gold
Posts: 1,466
Same at manchester the other day: took 45 mins which I have never expoerienced before. They were computer reading every passport.
__________________
KLM Plat Elite for Life LH Senator BMI Gold Hilton Silver (Other Half Gold) Priority Club Gold TK Gold, Aegean Gold BA Gold
simonsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 05, 5:16 am   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Do you have to wait in immigration if you're catching a connecting flight?

Flying KLM next week from ABZ-AMS with only an hour to spare before catching the connecting flight to dubai.
RD1280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 05, 5:42 am   #4
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: somewhere north of London, UK
Programs: PC Plat, HH Gold, BA Brown
Posts: 12,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by RD1280
Do you have to wait in immigration if you're catching a connecting flight?

Flying KLM next week from ABZ-AMS with only an hour to spare before catching the connecting flight to dubai.
No need for immigration clearance on that itin, but if you're going to a Schengen country you will need to go through passport checks on arrival.

I assume the OP checked what the Schengen lines were like, but an alternative may have been to a) queue up as a transit pax then just exist to landside from there, or b) walk along to the F pier & see what the queues were like there. Option a for handbaggage only, but I believe all the belts are in a connected customs hall so option B is ok if you've got bags in check.
Swiss Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 05, 5:48 am   #5
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Programs: Amex Centurion - HHonors Diamond - ICH Platinum Roy. Amb. - SPG Gold - Flying Blue Blue - M&M FT
Posts: 1,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by RD1280
Do you have to wait in immigration if you're catching a connecting flight?

Flying KLM next week from ABZ-AMS with only an hour to spare before catching the connecting flight to dubai.

Sounds like you will be leaving ABZ on the 10:50 arriving AMS at 13:25 then leaving on the KL427 for Dubai at 14:30.

You will arrive from ABZ at the D non shenghen gates and will leave probably from the F gates for Dubai. You do not have to clear any immigration but if you have any sort of delay it could cause a problem as you have a long walk.

pmcg
__________________
pmcg
pmcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 05, 5:54 am   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonsmith
Same at manchester the other day: took 45 mins which I have never expoerienced before. They were computer reading every passport.
This is why I got the Privium Membership. I think it's great! 2 Mins max to get through passport line.

http://www.schiphol.nl/privium/
HomeTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 05, 8:06 am   #7
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: AMS (SEA, JNB)
Programs: Mucci Reperateur des Coeurs Brises
Posts: 3,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss Tony
No need for immigration clearance on that itin, but if you're going to a Schengen country you will need to go through passport checks on arrival.

I assume the OP checked what the Schengen lines were like, but an alternative may have been to a) queue up as a transit pax then just exist to landside from there, or b) walk along to the F pier & see what the queues were like there. Option a for handbaggage only, but I believe all the belts are in a connected customs hall so option B is ok if you've got bags in check.
The problem is I had hold luggage to collect, which means I had no choice but to go through immigration at the D pier in order to access the baggage hall 1. Otherwise I would have gone through another immigration point.

The baggage halls (3 of them) are not actually connected, or passengers are not supposed to be able to walk between them.
SchmeckFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 05, 4:06 pm   #8
Moderator: Mileage Run
2014 Elections
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Munich, Germany
Programs: LH HON, UA 1K, BA Gold, DL FO/MM, SPG Lifetime Platinum, Hyatt Diamond, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 6,118
When the transit queue streched all over the terminal, I've sometimes simply gone out via baggage claim and gotten back in like an AMS originating pax. You can easily see the lines at the security check before you decide on doing that - which can save you lots of time.
rcs85551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 05, 12:11 am   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Programs: KL Gold, SQ KF Gold, CX Green
Posts: 1,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchmeckFlyer
The problem is I had hold luggage to collect, which means I had no choice but to go through immigration at the D pier in order to access the baggage hall 1. Otherwise I would have gone through another immigration point.

The baggage halls (3 of them) are not actually connected, or passengers are not supposed to be able to walk between them.
This is incorrect. Baggage halls 1 and 2 are definitely connected and for many flights you clear immigration at hall 1 and baggage is at hall 2. So you always have the option to clear immigration at the end of Pier D, OR at the end of Pier E, OR go through Schengen immigration and enter baggage halls 1 and 2 from there.

For hall 3, you can clear immigration either at the end of Pier F OR Pier G.

Leaving AMS to a non-Schnegen destination, you have the option of using passport control / Security in Hall 1, 2 OR 3. I often walk over to another hall when queues are too long.
Sjoerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 05, 1:43 am   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: AMS
Posts: 368
And baggage hall 3 is connected to 1 and 2 through a corridor. So it would be possible to walk from hall 1 to hall 3 and back.
Papa Hotel is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 9:57 pm.