Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Sim cards at FCO- any experiences?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 8, 2017, 3:43 am
Original Poster

Sim cards at FCO- any experiences?

Just doing some research and saw Vodafone offering their "holiday" sim- website states 30 Euros all incl. for mins/data (2gb). Seems like a good deal, but i'm wondering if anyone has picked one up from the airport. The majority of my recent travels have been in Asia and the airport outlets of mobile providers usually charge more than advertised...

1. does the airport outlet of voda offer the holiday sim
2. are there any hidden charges, or do you really pay 30 euros and you're good until your 2gb is used fully

cheers!
Old Apr 11, 2017, 8:58 am

Programs: AA EXP >4 MM, Lifetime Plat
I have no personal experience with Vodafone, but I just called their toll free number and the lady assured me that the holiday package is 30 euros, just as you described. I asked, "what if I arrive with a SIM card from ATT from the USA?" She said it doesn't matter, it will only cost 30. You can't actually call the store at the airport. She was looking it up on the internet herself, as we spoke.

Personally, I've rarely gotten satisfaction and charges as advertised, using TIM. But the customer service rep just said that she looked up the "holiday package," and it is 30 euros, all inclusive, no matter where you arrive from, providing your phone is not locked. There is a Voda store at FCO, 2 at departures, 1 at arrivals, so I'd just go for it.

I specifically asked her about hidden charges, and she said there were none. That's about all the information you can get. Hidden charges always pop up, but much less in Italy than in the USA.