Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Dallas to South Africa - NEED HELP

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30, 2016, 8:34 pm
Original Poster

Dallas to South Africa - NEED HELP

Hello! I am new to the miles games as of this year and really have no idea where to start. I have done a little research, but would like some guidance. We are planning a family trip for May/June 2017 to South Africa. The flights will be for 2 adults and 2 children (6 & 8). We currently have points saved up with Chase Ultimate Rewards and AMEX Member Rewards. Our trip is taking us to Cape Town, then to the Johannesburg area and then to the island of Mauritius. Below is the flight plan I think is going to work best and would like to spend as least out of pocket on the flights as possible. I have found a DFW-CPT flight that looks good flying Lufthansa (through United) with a layover in Frankfurt, but have had no luck with the others. I am open to all suggestions as long as the fuel surcharges are not ridiculous. Thanks for the help in advance!

DFW-CPT
CPT-JNB (this flight is already pretty cheap and we might just purchase this)
JNB-Mauritius (Roundtrip)
JNB-DFW
Old Aug 31, 2016, 12:35 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AC Super Elite, Radisson Platinum, Accor Platinum
Welcome to Flyertalk!

Two basic questions:

1) How many points do you have in each program?
2) Are you planning to fly economy class or a different class of service? (the latter would be much more difficult in terms of finding availability)
Old Aug 31, 2016, 1:23 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

GinnyC Welcome to FT

For some one new to the frequent flyer / frequent spender miles game your trip is a big ask. Do not believe what you read on those ff blogs.
Now is the time to book award flights USA to RSA. Or are you looking for a majority of cash paid flights?

People start booking awards, if they can be found, 350/330 days out. For a trip for May/June 2017 to South Africa you are a year too late if trying to build up a ff mile bank.