Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

Help me understand how to intentionally book 3 day stopovers?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 8, 2015, 11:10 am
Original Poster

Hi, I have read stickies and forums and I'm doing my best to follow the rules (I'm a relative newbie, feel free to move this or delete it if it's in the wrong place).

I plan to go to travel to visit India, and then volunteer at a hospital in west Africa this winter.

I tried doing Multi-city search on ITA and the price was coming up over $5000, but if I buy 1 way tickets it comes up to a total of about $2000 (I wonder if I was making some kind of mistake with the multi city option on ITA).

So my current Itinerary I am thinking about booking is UA: CMH-IAD-BOM $805, then two weeks later Ethiopian Airlines: BOM-ADD-BKO-DKR for $405
and then 5 months later I will just buy a return ticket from DKR to CMH.

My question is, I'd like to stop for a few days in each layover city to explore the city, in IAD, ADD, BKO but I don't know how to try to search or book a ticket that has a 3 day stopover in each transfer city? Will it likely be the same price as the normal layover?

And why is multi-city coming up as more than twice as expensive than one way tickets?

I don't want anyone to do work for me in finding flights, but if you can suggest where I can go to read more about what I am trying to do, or give me any general advice it'd be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Patrick.
Old Oct 8, 2015, 12:59 pm

Programs: AA, UA, WN, HH, Marriott
If you don't know how to do it yourself, you should consider either calling the airline or calling a good international travel agent. Of course, you will likely have to pay a fee in either case, but it may save you more money on fares than what you are paying for the fee.
Old Oct 8, 2015, 1:42 pm

Programs: UA Silver, MR titanium