Newbie here trying to fly to japan

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie here trying to fly to japan

Search this Thread

Old Jul 1, 2015, 3:44 pm
Original Poster

Hey guys I am totally newbie and I am in desperate need of help. I am looking to fly (at budget) from toronto to japan august 8th until august 23rd. Dates can be slightly flexible if necessary.

I am keen to sign up for a new credit card to get the "welcome bonus" and rack up x amount of points to put towards this flight. I am prepared to spend about 3000 bucks to satisfy the card requirements (spend 3000 in the first 3 monthes yada yada yada).

I simply need to know what card to get, what airline to use etc etc. Please help ASAP !! I work like 14 hours a day as a cook and really can't spend time on this during my work week

I am just so overwhelmed with knowing which airlines will honor which cards/points/miles etc etc

Last edited by jackal; Jul 1, 2015 at 6:07 pm
Old Jul 1, 2015, 4:09 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

If you're talking about flying this August (as opposed to August, 2016), it's highly unlikely that you will meet the spend requirements and have the bonus miles post in time to do you any good.

And are you are U.S. resident or a Canadian resident? The most lucrative credit-card sign-up bonuses seem to be limited to U.S. residents.

In addition, even if you could get a large number of miles by early August, there is absolutely no assurance that you would be able to find frequent-flyer award seats at the last minute.

Sorry.
Old Jul 1, 2015, 4:30 pm
Original Poster

I appreciate the response and I apologize for double posting. I didn't know how to remove the other post but decided my post was more suitable for this thread.

Yes it is for this august and I am Canadian.