Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Upgrading on Hawaiian Airlines

Search this Thread

Old Nov 16, 2012, 11:39 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA1k, Oneworld Sapphire, Hyatt Globalist, IHG DiamondAmb, Hilton Diamond, Marriott LTP,
Upgrading on Hawaiian Airlines

I am a newbie to Hawaiian Airlines.

I am travelling from SJC to OGG on an award seat just before new year with my wife in Coach.

I want to know the options to upgrade this ticket to First Class.

Do HA offer a fee based upgrade prior to departure via their website?

Can I upgrade during online at check-in or at airport prior to travel?

What sort of prices do they offer.

ALso If i want an exit seat, can I pay to reserve this, if so how?

All help is greatly appreciated.
Old Nov 16, 2012, 4:28 pm

Programs: UA, HA, CO
Originally Posted by navatwal
Do HA offer a fee based upgrade prior to departure via their website?
Upgrades prior to 24-hours before departure can be done online, but the "fee" is the fare difference between your coach ticket and the prevailing First Class fare. Essentially you're buying a First Class ticket at "rack rate."

Originally Posted by navatwal
Can I upgrade during online at check-in or at airport prior to travel?
Yes, you can upgrade at check-in assuming First Class seats are still available then. Upgrades at check-in usually go for ~$350.

Also, you can reserve an exit seat (or bulkhead) during online check-in or at the airport. Fee for exit seats are $35 (West Coast)...$75 for JFK flights.
Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:39 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: HH Gold, AA Gold
Rather than buying up to F, might I suggest "making your own" F? Get exit-row seats on the "2" seat side, buy up to the premium Y meals, rent a digiplayer, and purchase your adult beverages. You'll come out much cheaper and you've made your own little "first class" in Y.
Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:46 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA1k, Oneworld Sapphire, Hyatt Globalist, IHG DiamondAmb, Hilton Diamond, Marriott LTP,
Good idea,