Community
Wiki Posts
Search

40m in HEL on JFK-SVO

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29, 2015, 9:40 pm
Original Poster

40m in HEL on JFK-SVO

Is 40 minutes enough time to connect JFK-HEL-SVO with AY entire (and interline)? Some threads from years ago suggest yes and others no, this would be international-international which seem to be close together in a small airport (as opposed to Schengen-intl).

And if I misconnect, does Finnair usually protect on other airlines (airBaltic, SAS, Aeroflot, etc.) or do overnight and wait until tomorrow?

Thanks.

Edit: same PNR, 40m seems to be legal as Finnair is selling it.
Old Jan 29, 2015, 10:20 pm

This should be plenty of time to transfer within the non-schengen area. For the mis-connection I have no knowledge, but my guess is that the default option would be a wait for next day.
Old Jan 29, 2015, 11:44 pm
Ambassador: Finnair Plus
Hilton 5+ BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge

Programs: AY+ Plat, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Discoverist, Priority Club Plat Amb, Miles and Smiles Elite
Originally Posted by acmys
Is 40 minutes enough time to connect JFK-HEL-SVO with AY entire (and interline)? Some threads from years ago suggest yes and others no, this would be international-international which seem to be close together in a small airport (as opposed to Schengen-intl).
Yes, it is quite enough, see sticky: http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/finna...ly-simple.html. Coming from the US there is no security check and you are staying in non-Schengen area the whole time.
Old Jan 30, 2015, 12:29 am

JFK-HEL-SVO is quite popular route. AY's HEL-SVO flight 40 minutes after flight from JFK is scheduled to arrive has sometimes even waited if JFK-HEl is little bit late as there can be dozens of passengers from JFK.