Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Travel to ZRH Switzerland

Search this Thread

Old Aug 2, 2015, 6:48 pm
Original Poster

Travel to ZRH Switzerland

Hi All---This is my first time booking a trip to Europe. Any advice you might share to save the most money booking a non-stop flight to Switzerland, France, Germany or Italy for late summer (August 2016) travel time. I am visiting my boyfriend's family in Zurich and can fly into Zurich directly or any other near-Zurich European country on the cheap and find transportation into Zurich (train, bike, and/or drive into Switzerland if that saves the most money. I'm flexible, willing to do the research and have plenty of time to plan for a wonderful trip wherever I land first. My main goal is to save money and nay help would be greatly appreciated as I begin my search.

Thanks in advance! C
Old Aug 2, 2015, 7:57 pm
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K 1.8MM, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum/Lifetime Gold
Welcome to FT!
A couple of things: FT is not a travel agency.
If you want to search for cheap airfares, try www.kayak.com, www.google.com or www.orbitz.com or www.cheapoair.com or www.priceline.com
Also if you want help, it's going to be easier if you say where you are traveling from.
Right now, I'd suggest go look at those travel sites and plug in your dates and see what fares you come up with.
Once you have some comparisons, folks here will offer their advice on your options.
Old Aug 3, 2015, 1:52 am

As you start your research for air fares, you'll start to learn the airport codes for the cities. For example, the airport code for Zurich's airport is ZRH.
Welcome to FT.

Last edited by FLYMSY; Aug 3, 2015 at 3:36 am
Old Aug 3, 2015, 2:10 am

Programs: AA (EXP); among others :)
Monitor the Mileage Run Deals forum and jump when something cheap comes up.
But keep in mind that while the Swiss public transport system is excellent, it is not cheap. There are sales and special fares which can be a bargain, but they are unpredictable.