Community
Wiki Posts
Search

SPG AMEX or ??

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1, 2015, 4:17 am
Original Poster

SPG AMEX or ??

So I'd like to start working towards a nice trip for my dad and I in 2017. I don't have a great rewards card at the moment, so trying to decide my best option to go with.

Right now I have nothing significant in any of the loyalty programs for hotels or airlines. Some in VX and some in AA. Based in LAX right now, but other options would be BDL or BOS.

We have a mini vacation in January to Florida and I figure between everything I can rack up an easy $5K at least along with some MS in the in the months leading up to it. I don't want to put too much into MS yet though since I'm new to it, is doing $1-5K MS even worth it?

Trying to read as many threads as I can and the SPG seems to come out on top most of the time. Any thoughts?
Old Aug 1, 2015, 5:20 am

Programs: UA 1MM, AA Plat, Marriott LT Titanium, Hyatt Glob, IHG ♢ Amb, Hilton ♢, Hertz Pres
SPG AMEX or ??

you'd likely end up with about 30,000 points from SPG Amex after spending $5k. 25,000 bonus points and points for your spend. That is worth about $900 in redemption for hotels (depending on when/where you redeem). Subtract the $95 annual fee from that and you end up with about $800 in value. SPG Amex also allows you to transfer to airlines with a 25% bonus. So you'd have an option for that if you didn't redeem for hotels.

Where are you thinking of taking your Dad in 2017? If it doesn't have an SPG property in Cat 3 or 4 that you like I'd look at an alternate card.
Old Aug 1, 2015, 10:26 am

Programs: AA, SPG, HERTZ, BA, UA, CO, JB
If you get the spg,get the business version as you get lounge access. If not, if you up for getting multiple cards, you can probably get 2 to 3 cards with that 5k spend.