Wiki Posts
Search

Need suggestions for spas in California

Search this Thread

Old Jan 18, 2011, 3:02 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA, UA, WN, HH, Marriott
Need suggestions for spas in California

I'm not talking about nice resorts that happen to have a spa - such as Montage or Bacara - but places that are dedicated to the "spa culture", such as Canyon Ranch or Miraval. Are there any in California, especially along the coast?
Old Jan 18, 2011, 6:22 pm

Programs: UA *Alliance
Ojai Valley Inn and Spa?
http://www.ojairesort.com/

Carmel Valley Ranch Resort?
www.carmelvalleyranch.com
Old Jan 18, 2011, 8:58 pm
Moderator: Luxury Hotels and FlyerTalk Evangelist

Neither are along the coast, and I wouldn't say that Carmel Valley is into spa culture either (I have no personal experience with the Ojai Valley Inn).

The FS in Westlake Village has pretensions to the title but it's a LOOOOOONNNNG way from being anything like Canyon Ranch.

Haven't ever been there, but what about the Golden Door in Escondido?
http://www.goldendoor.com/
Old Jan 18, 2011, 9:23 pm

Not to nitpick, but I don't think that the Golden Door would be considered "on the coast" anymore so than the others. Is the OP looking for something right on the beach?
Old Jan 19, 2011, 10:02 am

Originally Posted by SWCPHX
Not to nitpick, but I don't think that the Golden Door would be considered "on the coast" anymore so than the others. Is the OP looking for something right on the beach?
Yeah I agree, but at least it would be a spa. Of the luxury chain hotels I know along the coast -- FS, Ritz, Park Hyatt -- none of them are really spa-focussed places.
Old Jan 19, 2011, 4:58 pm
Original Poster

Thanks for the suggestions - I'm asking for some friends. I don't think right on the beach is an issue - just not in Arizona.
Old Jan 19, 2011, 8:23 pm
Senior Moderator; Moderator, Eco-Conscious Travel, United and Flyertalk Cares

Programs: UA 1.7 MM;; Accor & Marriott Pt; Hyatt Globalist
La Costa in Carlsbad is pretty nice.