Wiki Posts
Search

LHR-NYC-LHR in Y Class on BA 747 or AA 777

Search this Thread

Old Jun 26, 2017, 9:55 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA Oneworld
LHR-NYC-LHR in Y Class on BA 747 or AA 777

Cheap weekend trip in the offing. We are all BAEC Silver, so choose seats at the time of booking and can soak up the benefits of the OW lounges to ease the pain of the actual flight in Y class. So all thing being equal (price, times, TPs earned. etc) which carrier/aircraft should I take. I have no experience of AA, if that helps your understanding.
Old Jun 26, 2017, 9:58 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Mucci, BA, AF
AA without a doubt. More substantial food, CX lounge outbound, free Main Cabin Extra, almost certain of updated IFE, newer seats. Assuming you're not a big drinker. One thing in BA's favour on the return though is EC261/duty of care.
Old Jun 26, 2017, 10:18 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA Oneworld
Originally Posted by BA6501
AA without a doubt. More substantial food, CX lounge outbound, free Main Cabin Extra, almost certain of updated IFE, newer seats. Assuming you're not a big drinker. One thing in BA's favour on the return though is EC261/duty of care.
Thanks for your comments and that looks like a very good answer in my circumstances.
Old Jun 26, 2017, 10:29 am

Programs: BA GGL
Originally Posted by BrianWBrazil
Thanks for your comments and that looks like a very good answer in my circumstances.
"free Main Cabin Extra"

^ one of the greatest things about AA, as it's roughly equal to BA's WT Plus cabin. In the future AA will have its own Premium Economy cabin, so make the most of MCE while you can!
Old Jun 26, 2017, 10:31 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA
Make sure MCE seats are available on AA before you book. I would hate to book AA and then get stuck in 10 across 777 economy if MCE is already full.
Old Jun 26, 2017, 1:34 pm

Programs: BAEC