Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Quick anecdote - carry-on: was I unreasonable?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 5, 2008, 11:52 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP and 1MM, SPG Platinum, HHonors Gold, Hertz Prez. Circle
Quick anecdote - carry-on: was I unreasonable?

Hi folks,
This is my first time on here. Great board. I read the rules but apologize in advance if I make a mistake.

So I have been flying AA for about 6 years - been EXP for about 5 years. Since my roller bag broke I have been using a large (but not ridiculously so) duffel bag when I travel, along with my small carry-on computer bag. I have been traveling with this duffel bag for about 2 years now.

On a recent trip from DFW-LGA I was in first class and was about the third or fourth person to board the airplane. Immediately upon entering the plane the flight attendant told me, not very kindly, that my bag was too big and would have to be checked. I nicely assured her that I travel with this bag all the time and that it would fit no problem in the DEF compartment. She said "sir, the plane is going to be full today and we need to make sure there is room for everyone's bag."

Now maybe I'm wrong, but here's my beef:

As long as the bag meets the size requirements, isn't one of the perks of traveling in first class and boarding at the start that you can stow your bag without hassle and without worrying about the bags that everyone else will be bringing on? What if I had agreed to gate check my bag and then the entire plane boarded and there was plenty of space after all - what a complete waste of my time!

I ended up throwing the bag up there with the ease of an Olympian, turned around and smiled at her and said - see, no problem at all!

Any thoughts? Am I crazy to think that this was totally unreasonable? I wrote a letter to customer relations and named that flight attendant personally.
Old Mar 6, 2008, 12:00 am
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist